What The Garden Teaches

Coleus 'TrustyRusty' is at its best.

At the end of every gardening season, we take away from our experiences certain insights.  As days grow shorter and shadows lengthen in the garden, I’ve reflected a good deal about the lessons my small garden offered me this summer.

Patience“Adopt the pace of nature:  her secret is patience.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Sometimes, plants you’re ready to give up on (like the coleus above) turn out to be some of the most beautiful in your garden.  A few weeks after I planted these Trusty Rusty coleus, I was ready to pull them and toss them on the compost.  But I didn’t, and left to their own devices, they turned into one of the greatest successes.  Their autumnal colour is a bright spot in this small bed.

SimplicityBe content with what you have, rejoice in the way things are.  When you realize there is nothing lacking, the whole world belongs to you.” – Lao Tzu

Often the fanciest blooms and most striking colours aren’t the plants that do best.  My stalwart geraniums, as always, have been the stars of the show and are still covered in unopened buds.  If the weather cooperates, they should continue to bloom until the first heavy frost.  Other flowers I planted, such as a beautiful, burgundy verbena, withered and died in the heat and wind of July.

These orange geraniums are loaded in buds -- the cones, a gift from the surrounding pine trees. The grass hasn't browned, by the way...that golden colour is from pine needle fall.

Persistence —  “To create a little flower is the labor of ages.” – William Blake

Lobelia, scraggly after weekend wind, but blooming again.

After a serious haircut, these lobelia and the ageratum have come back with a second flush of blooms.  I’ll remember, another year, not to be so quick to give up on a plant.  Persistence pays off.

These tiny buds may not come to bloom, but they're trying.

The garden also teaches us what works, and what doesn’t.  For example, a simple strip of tin foil has kept Mr. Pee Cat away from our door for the entire summer.  It worked very well when many other remedies did not.  And I thought I had the ant problem in our hummingbird feeder solved with a generous gob of Vaseline on the pole, but that was an abysmal failure.  The ants still somehow found their way to that sugary goodness.

Always turn your face to the sun.

But I believe the most important lessons we take from the garden are those which teach us something about ourselves — those that teach us our connection to living things.  The garden, if you let it, quietly teaches us how to see, listen, feel and smell again by providing us with colour, the buzz of insects, bird song, the sigh of warm breezes, the warmth of the sun on our face, the miracles of butterflies.  It also shows us how to feel with our hearts, and reminds us that the Earth needs us to take care of her, so that we can both go on living…and gardening.

What lessons did your garden teach you this year?


Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

16 thoughts on “What The Garden Teaches”

  1. I was just pondering on this very thing yesterday–the first good day in the garden I’ve had all season. It’s just been so stinking hot. The cool weather came along and out popped the color and petunias started showing off again. Seems like the older I get, the more patience waiting becomes.

  2. Lovely post, Nancy. I especially enjoy the lesson learned form the coleous. Geraniums are such giving plants… they just keep blooming. Have you considered bringing the pot indoors to a sunny spot for the WInter? It wil continue to bloom and bring joy. I’m actually working on a similar post that I’ll publish when our Summer begins ro wind down. The calendar may say Autumn, but the weather for now is so Summer.

    1. Alas, my apartment windows are located such that they preclude bringing any large pots in from outside. I may take some cuttings, however — I did that last year, but didn’t get them planted before they wilted away. We’ve had distinctly summery weather for the past week…too hot for me, in fact. But it has turned decidedly cooler today. I love the fall. Thanks for your visit!

  3. Sadly, there was no garden in this, our temporary yard, to teach me anything. However, I did enjoy and learn much through Virtual Gardening. Thanks to you, Jodi and others I enjoyed a visual feast without having to do anything but click…click…click…! Thank you for that. I have enjoyed feasting upon your garden of delights this summer!

  4. A wonderful post. Its always good to learn something new even as we grow older. It keeps us young. Or so I tell myself

  5. I am always aware of lessons in the garden. In addition to the important ones you mentioned, I think of hope, healing, restoration. No matter how stormy the present, the sun will rise on another day.

  6. Nancy girl .. I was taught one heck of a lesson when I took out my back/knee and lost August and most of September without being in the garden .. not only did I suffer physically but truly .. my inner well being was crushed .. the garden gives me such comfort and satisfaction and is only available for such a short period of time .. I knew it was a major part of my life confined to such a short period of time .. but this experience really shook me up .. I hope nothing like it ever happens again .. I need my garden more than my garden actually needs me ? LOL
    Joy : )
    PS .. that coleus is BEAUTIFUL !! as well as that geranium of course (orange being a key color to me right now ? LOL)

    1. All my geraniums have come into their own, Joy — there’s the orange, two beautiful “violets”, and a lavender ivy that I’ve actually had to cut back some. You’re right about the garden — I’m SURE I need mine more than it needs me, :) I hope your back and knee are feeling better now, though I know what it’s like to have aching muscles because of the FM and a bad disc. Hugs to you, my Canuck friend. You just gave me an idea for a post…I’ll mail it to you. :-)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!