A Conscious Blessing

“…For all practical purposes nature is at a standstill. . . . there is a wonderful joy in leaving behind the noisy city streets and starting out along the white road that leads across the hills.  With each breath of the sharp, reviving air one seems to inhale new life.  A peace as evident as the sunshine on the fields takes possession of one’s inner being.  The trivial cares which fretted like a swarm of mosquitoes are driven away by the first sweep of wind that comes straight from the mountains. . . . The intense silence that broods over the snow-bound land is a conscious blessing.  The deep blue of the sky and the purple shadows cast by the trees and plants are a feast to the eye…” – Frances Parsons

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

9 thoughts on “A Conscious Blessing”

  1. Nancy we just had our first real snow storm dumping about 8 inches and your post came to my inbox…reading it made me realize what it is I love about the snow; the silence; the cold air I breath that revives me; the peace it evokes when you look upon nature sleeping….how wonderful this post is…

  2. .I just posted my first real snow picture yesterday. It’s nice not to be first for once. I must say I’m glad to see the snow. Your quote says it all!

  3. Hello Nancy! I’ve not been blogging much of late. However, today I vow to catch up with my buddies. Love the look of your new blog and adore this post. Very wistful and peaceful. Happy New Year, dear! XO

  4. I’m not sure my worries would be swept away by a wind blowing across the snow. I think they might be added to. None the less, it’s a lovely sentiment and picture. Hope you are having a very happy New Year and that 2012 will be good.

    1. I certainly don’t mind the snow, Deborah. In fact, I think it’s beautiful. Winter is beautiful. As long as everyone is safe and warm and cozy first, of course. :)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

