May, From The Front Deck

Dear common flower, that grow’st beside the way,
Fringing the dusty road with harmless gold,
First pledge of blithesome May,
Which children pluck, and, full of pride, uphold…

My childhood’s earliest thoughts are linked with thee;
The sight of thee calls back the robin’s song,
Who, from the dark old tree
Beside the door, sang clearly all day long…

– James Russell Lowell

Yellow, yellow, everywhere!  I couldn’t resist taking a few hasty snaps (before the sun retreats again) of these lovely “weeds” of spring — one person’s weeds are another’s flower, perhaps?  I’ve never minded dandelions, even on an otherwise well-manicured lawn.  I thought it interesting that the neighbours in the top photo left several rows and clumps of these sunny blooms in place when they mowed.

Likewise, Miss Forsythia hasn’t quite given up all her blooms just yet, though her summer foliage is beginning to unfurl.

Though they are a common shrub and some gardeners would relegate them to the compost with the dandelions, I’ve always loved their early, buttery blossoms.

Elsewhere in the garden, it looks as though my little rhodie weathered the winter well and I cannot wait to see her fiery, red blooms.

On the deck, one volunteer sunflower has sprouted, courtesy of the chickadees.  I’ll plant it somewhere. :)

It’s been so terribly wet, and I’ve been under the weather with a cold — if Sunday and Monday are as nice as they forecast, I may actually get some containers planted and start thinking about what to plant in a few beds I hope to develop.  I upgraded my camera just after Christmas and haven’t even got it up and running yet, so there’s much to look forward to!  (If we don’t all mildew first!)

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

4 thoughts on “May, From The Front Deck”

  1. The poor dandelion is getting a bad rap. Now that pesticides and herbicides are banned in Ontario we have a bumper crop. Lovely poem. V

  2. Nancy – we must be in the same ‘weather pattern’; I’ve had to take vacation days during the week to get new perennials in the ground because it always seems to rain on the weekends. Friday was a ‘weeding day’ before the rains came in… It DOES look lush & green! :)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

