Blush and Bluster

A second blush of pink blooms are now opening on my amaryllis, just in time to temper the bluster of the day.

Unbelievably (to me), it’s the first time I’ve ever grown amaryllis, though I give them as gifts every Christmas.  It won’t be the last.  I’m surprised at how easy it is to bring these beautiful bulbs to bloom.

Outside, the view is not quite so nice.  We’re expecting an additional 12″ of snow on top of what you see before this system moves away, accompanied by gusty wind this evening.  Stay safe, everyone.

11 thoughts on “Blush and Bluster

  1. I’ve never grown one either, Nancy, and this one is such a beauty. Maybe next year I’ll give it a try, once we settle. And I mean SETTLE!

  2. We’re not leaping too greenly today, are we…more leaping snowily. I’m watching the drifts grow higher and higher on the back deck, and glad I can work from home. Your amaryllis is glorious, Nancy, and I bet you’re going to have more than a few more…

  3. Gorgeous, both flower and snow! Though I can appreciate the snow being too much. Still I think it is beautiful, if one can stay inside with a nice fire, plenty of food, and a good book! The practicalities of it for an extended period of time, however, seem daunting to me! It sounds like the storm that is covering much of the nation is quite dangerous. We may get some ice here tomorrow.

  4. Love your new header, but you might expect that from someone who is suppressing thoughts of color and Spring and trying to embrace this Winter. Just a few more weeks…

  5. Hi, Nancy! Your amaryllis is beautiful. I love them, but haven’t purchased a new one for about 3 years. These pokey bulbs of mine may or may not produce this Winter. Last year I threatened them with the compost pile before they blossomed! ;-) One is now growing, though. So there’s hope!

    Stay warm and safe. You have a lot more snow than we! And we received plenty this week.

  6. Nancy, Oh my! More snow~it’s beautiful, but, it must get old fast! I am so glad you have a cozy home, a sweet kitty and beautiful blooms to keep you smiling. gail

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

