The Garden In Its Bed

(Photo credit)

Clear blue skies and a mere whisper of a breeze allowed me to finally put my garden to bed today.  Pots were emptied, their contents sent to compost, the soil spread around shrubs and worked into other beds.  Some pots found their way to the garbage receptacle, brittle from years of sun bathing.  I planted a few spring bulbs in a large container and hope that they’ll winter well.  I even nipped a few straggly branches off the forsythia.  So, for as much as there is for a balcony gardener to do at season’s end, it’s done, and I’m thrilled to have a slightly different view of the deck.

There is something almost melancholy about coaxing the garden to sleep, though when you think of it, it’s not so much an ending as it is the first step in the start of next year’s garden.  Or, perhaps I just comfort myself with that, knowing that Winter’s icy breath is just around the corner.

“Last night, there came a frost, which has done great damage to my garden…. It is sad that Nature will play such tricks on us poor mortals, inviting us with sunny smiles to confide in her, and then, when we are entirely within her power, striking us to the heart.” – Nathaniel Hawthorne

 

7 thoughts on “The Garden In Its Bed

  1. I like that thought Nancy that we are on the threshold of next year’s garden. This weekend we will be getting ready for the first freeze of the season – it usually comes around Thanksgiving – and I’ll try to remember this instead of allowing the usual melancholy to set in. Thanks for the timely words.

  2. On the other side of the globe we are heading towards summer. We never have snow and I’d never thought much about its impact on gardens and gardeners. I’ve come to realise the seasons here just melt into each other compared to the contrasts you experience. Hope your garden has pleasant dreams while it rests.

  3. I put already my garden to sleep, he need to rest, and me to.
    And in the spring, it will be new and ready for the seeds.

    And I am back on Blotanical, with my new blog.

  4. Hi Nancy,
    I came here to see if you’d started your First Snowfall Project yet. I’m posting mine this morning. I’ll go ahead and put a link to your blog there. I have so many blogs I like, that I don’t keep up well at all. I didn’t even know you had a new blog. It’s beautiful!

    I love your well named photo. I have been resisting dumping more than a few of my pots. Now, it is time.

    • Hi Sue! Thanks for the link to the Snowfall project! I’m going to try to post details over the weekend and I’ll be sure to add your post to the lot. In fact, perhaps I’ll do that right now!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

