Wheels of Baled Hay

Wheels of baled hay...

“Wheels of baled hay bask in October sun:
Gold circles strewn across the sloping field,
They seem arranged as if each one
Has found its place; together they appeal
To some glimpsed order in my mind
Preceding my chance pausing here —
A randomness that also seems designed.
Gold circles strewn across the sloping field
Evoke a silence deep as my deep fear
Of emptiness; I feel the scene requires
A listener who can respond with words, yet who
Prolongs the silence that I still desire,
Relieved as clacking crows come flashing through,
Whose blackness shows chance radiance of fire.
Yet stillness in the field remains for everyone:
Wheels of baled hay bask in October sun.”
–   Robert Pack, Baled Hay

Gold circles strewn across the sloping field...

2 thoughts on “Wheels of Baled Hay

  1. Ah, yes. Simply…gratefully….yes. I miss these, too, the golden cylinders of hay lying in wait. Opening the car window driving by one can smell the hay, smell autumn. What a lovely post. Thanks for bringing up some powerful memories.

  2. Nancy girl these always make me smile BIG time when I see them .. husband and I say “shreddies” every time we see them ! haha
    Love the poem : )

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

