Beyond the Stars

Pegasus Constellation © Till Credner @ AlltheSky.com (Used with permission)

“Perhaps they are not the stars, but rather openings in Heaven where the love of our lost ones
pours through and shines down upon us to let us know they are happy.” – Eskimo proverb

I’ve always thought that stars were more mystical than mere pinpoints of light on a night canvas.  I found this quote today and, combined with this beautiful photo of the Pegasus (winged horse) constellation, it seemed fitting for this post.  Serendipitous, perhaps.

A childhood friend passed away this morning.  We were separated in age by four days.  We grew up in the same, small village.  We shared the same schools, same friends, same love of horses.  She is the first friend of childhood I’ve lost and as hard as I tried to come up with a suitable ‘epitaph’, words fail.

Though we hadn’t seen each other often as adults, tonight, as I search for the brightest star, I’m remembering the sweet scent of hay mows and gentle whickers…Highland dance slippers and black patent tap shoes…maples trees on tap…round, rosy cheeks and ringlets of blond hair…a path through the woods past a frozen pond…saddle and bridle.

My thoughts also go to her parents, her brother, her husband, her two children and new grandbaby.  Rest in peace — beyond the stars — Jocelyn.

9 thoughts on “Beyond the Stars

  1. Your lovely, sincere words from the heart make the perfect tribute to your friend. Sometimes our words cannot communicate all that we feel. I am sure your kind remembrances will bring some peace to her relatives.

    Your lovely images and thoughtful comments are always so appreciated. Thank you for allowing me to enjoy them!

  2. A lovely sentiment, Nancy. I’m sorry for your loss.

    The Inuit have so many wonderful beliefs and traditions, I’m not surprised you found comfort there.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

