Do Your Senses Tingle?

Autumn stirs the senses.

“A few days ago I walked along the edge of the lake and was treated to the crunch and rustle of leaves with each step I made.  The acoustics of this season are different and all sounds, no matter how hushed, are as crisp as autumn air.” -Eric Sloane

Autumn, perhaps more than any other time of year, awakens our senses. Could it be a final revelry before the silence of a cold, white winter? When we think of Autumn, we typically think first of the riotous colours that cloak the countryside. At no other time of year are we treated to such a vibrant palette: golds and oranges, reds and burgundies, rich ochres and umbers. It’s probably the thing we notice first, and naturally so, given that this glorious colour is most obvious.

Along with these wonderful sights, however, come other things to tingle our senses — the smell of woodsmoke from a neighbouring chimney, the scent of cold and frost, the pleasantly dusky smell of rain-dampened earth and water-logged leaves. The woods smell very different once the trees shed their leaves; it is as though the trees then release a more pungent odour of needles and bark, moss and lichens.

To the ear, Autumn is like no other season. We more clearly hear the wind as it sighs through naked trees. Flocks of migrating birds can bring a lump to the throat as they honk and chitter their way to warmer climes. And surely there can be no dearer sound in Autumn than the crunch of curled, dry leaves under foot.

How does Autumn stir your senses?

15 thoughts on “Do Your Senses Tingle?

  1. Nancy, When I was a kid there was nothing better then the sound of rustling autumn leaves as I walked to school. I loved the smell of leaf fires, too. There really isn’t anything like the scent of cold and frost! gail

  2. Yes, Nancy. Exactly. That autumn is my favorite season comes as no surprise, but you’ve sung its praises here better than could have ever done. Winter is my second favorite season because it’s so quiet – it speaks softly and has a different beauty, similar to autumn but not as rambunctious. But your photograph today? Oh, my heavens it is exquisite. One of my favorites of yours hands down. This is a post to remember. Thanks so much.

  3. I do love the sound of leaves crunching underfoot. It reminds me of of my childhood. Raking piles of leaves just to jump into them. :)

  4. Hi Nancy…I loved this post. Maybe I’m related to the bears and squirrels. I feel like I’m going into hibernation. Getting everything ready and squirreling away food in the freezer. Have a nice weekend.
    Balisha

  5. Beautiful post Nancy. The sound of Autumn definitely stirs me. . . the sound, the light, the color, the moon and stars on a clear night – love it!

  6. Hi Nancy, Thanks for featuring my blog on your side bar. I’m glad I found yours. I love your thoughts about nature. Autumn….a time to curl up with a good book , a cup of hot chocolate and stop worrying about tending to the garden. Vibrant colors everywhere, I love that part! Annie

  7. Such good writing. Such imagery. It bring back childhood memories of running under the huge oaks on my grandfather’s estate, tossing the leaves skyward, jumping in the mountainous piles, kicking them all the way back, and having them betray my arrival as I am late for dinner.

  8. Fall is such a feast for the senses. Everywhere my eye sees a riot of color. The sun is warm and golden, not hot. The rustle of dry leaves in the trees makes me think of the sea.

  9. Indeed, my senses tingle delightfully at this time of the year – the colors, the textures, the fragrances of forest and field as they fall asleep for the winter. I love the photograph!

  10. Wow! my senses certainly are tingling now if they weren’t before reading your lovely description, my friend. This is my favorite time of year and many times over the past few weeks, while driving along on our ‘dirt road’ over the leaves, with the wind blowing ‘just so’ my thoughts have gone back to those wonderful, carefree days of riding my horse alongside my best and dearest friend over the hills and vales of Nova Scotia as the red, gold and yellow leaves dropped around us – thanks for the wonderful memories Nancy!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

