Skywatch Friday (Clouds & Cones)

A sure sign colder weather is on the way...

Look up — look waaaaay up.  The sky has been a dull, non-colour all day today with frequent showers, so there’s not much to photograph IN the sky, but these pinecones are sure pretty against the dark canvas.  They’ve been dropping off the huge trees just off our deck in great numbers, and I’ve been collecting them for Christmas crafts.

Sticky and fragrant...

Other than that, it’s been a simply drippy day, but the beauty and bounty of September continue to surround us.

Asters bloom in a small ditch, just a few feet from our front door.

Check out more Skywatch Friday posts here!

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

8 thoughts on “Skywatch Friday (Clouds & Cones)”

  1. Nancy, those pinecones are so different from the ones I knew in BC. Ours were wider (I was going to say “fatter”) and yours are slim, with that cute bend in some of them. What causes the bend? Surely not wind?
    Gorgeous photos.

    Kay, Alberta

  2. Thank you so much for visiting my blog…and highlighting it on your side bar. I too collect cones from my nurseryman’s farm. I am starting to amass quite a few. I am not sure what I am going to do with them at Christmas yet, but maybe you have a few ideas to share.

  3. I was walking along my woodland garden path yesterday, and the ground was covered with cones. I hope that you are right and this means cooler weather is on the way. We are still well into the nineties and have had almost no rain in September. We could use some of your showers!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

