Bouncing Pots

Cute as a button...I'm not sure who or what the little green creature is.

“It is utterly forbidden to be half-hearted about gardening.  You have got to love your garden whether you like it or not.”  – W.C. Sellar & R.J. Yeatman, Garden Rubbish, 1936

*    *    *

Pots bouncing back, that is.  Despite the beating my poor containers took in torrential downpours mixed in with days of sweltering heat, some of them seem determined to fight back.  Though their petals are slightly shaggy, these pink Gerberas did finally open, unlike the orange ones that rotted off at the base of the bloom.  Perhaps the pink are more tolerant of wet conditions.

Threatened with life in the ditch, this tiny pink verbena decided to perk up.

Threatened with life in the ditch along with many of its brothers and sisters, this little pink verbena (above) is once again putting out fresh green foliage and bubblegum pink blooms.

Geranium 'Candy Rose Splash'

Geranium 'Caliente Orange'

Ivy Geranium 'Blue Blizzard'

There was never any doubt that the geraniums would continue to thrive — they are the most stalwart plants in the garden and never let me down.  In fact, I think I could have a geranium-only garden, there are so many lovely varieties available now.  I’ve given up trying to capture the violet geranium, but it’s lovely wine coloured blossoms with coral centres continue to put forth new buds.  Even the pink ‘Candy Rose Splash’ that was barely settled in its pot when the heavy rain set in has bounced back with a new flush of buds.

Coleus 'Trusty Rusty'

Even my tiny little Rhodie bed is coming along.  I deadheaded all the marigolds last evening, but there are lots of new buds on them, and the coleus seems determined to flourish, despite earwigs and slugs.  The small mounds of ageratum are coming back to life as well, though many of their blooms turned to mush after the rain.  I do love this coleus and wish now that I’d purchased several other new colours.

So, as the quote says:  You’ve got to love your garden…whether you like it or not!

As an aside, my daughters spinal surgery (disc replacement) was rescheduled for Wednesday morning and, assuming that all goes well, she should be released the following day.  The marvels of modern surgical techniques!  Thank you all for your good wishes.

5 thoughts on “Bouncing Pots

  1. Your plants look better than mine. I spent the morning trying to restore beauty to the garden, but it was an uphill battle. My pots are horrible. I can truthfully say this is my worst gardening year, ever.

    The weekend was nice here, but today is very muggy. 60% chance of a storms tonight.

  2. I hope your daughter’s surgery goes well, and she bounces back as quickly as your flowers! I loved the quote about loving your garden whether you liked it or not. How true!

  3. Nancy girl I had not read the news about your daughter .. I am sending best wishes too !
    I also have had the disc surgery quite a few years ago and I am sure it is far more updated than from that time : ) .. your daughter will feel much better without that rotten disc causing so many problems and so much pain .. best wishes for a very speedy recovery !!
    Joy : )

  4. I hope your daughter is out of the hospital by now Nancy and recovering. That will ease your anxiety (which is completely understandable). I feel the same when things happen to my own daughter. I hope the surgery makes her life more comfortable. All the best.
    ps The flowers in your containers are looking good ~ downpours or not!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

