Ode To The (Crappy) Weather

Potted mum

Ode To The Crappy Weather

I am a lowly store-bought mum,
I flourished, strong and green, with sun;
But now that rain again’s begun
I fear my summery growth is done.

Ageratum 'Hawaii Blue'I was an ageratum blue,
My pompom blooms in great clumps grew;
Now I’ve been beaten through and through–
Chewed up, wilted and mildewed.

Pink Gerbera

I am a pretty pink-bloomed daisy,
Fast I grew, though hot and hazy;
Now my petals look quite crazy!
Too much rain has made me lazy.

A conglomeration

Sigh.

If my rain-soaked pots you’ll pardon,
Gathered here, are they a garden?
Perhaps I’ll leave them pushed together
Until the end of crappy weather!

– 2010 Nancy J. Bond

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

15 thoughts on “Ode To The (Crappy) Weather”

  1. Well, I’m laughing out loud over here! Nancy, you sound just DEFEATED, but in a really funny way. I’m linking to this post from PH Rambles, if you don’t mind!

    Jared

    LOL, Jared, defeated would be just about right…today, at least. I’d be flattered for the link. Thanks, and I’m glad you enjoyed. :)

  2. Funny! I reckon misery loves company so yeah…keep ’em together! Poor petals…hope they (and you) get some sunshine soon, dearie. I’m sending some rays of sunshine vicariously via cyberspace. Hope it gets there post haste!

  3. Lovely post, Nancy but did you have to send us your weather! It is wet and windy here but not cold. I will admit that I prefer this weather to the heat of a hot summers day and the weeds love it!

    Best wishes Sylvia (England)

  4. Nancy girl !
    Wow .. you guys are getting a lot of rain aren’t you ? We have been threatened with rain but no follow through .. so here is the deal .. I will send you sunny weather and you send me some rain for the garden OK ?
    Sorry .. I just had to say that .. a morning thing with the brain cells ? LOL
    Joy

  5. So sorry for the weather Nancy. Wish we could all even it out ~ it’s hot and dry here now and a little more rain actually sounds nice. Hopefully the sun will be out soon there!

  6. Hi Nancy – sorry to contact you through comments but I couldn’t find an email address for you. I found your site through blotanical and was really impressed, great photos and really nice posts. May I ask if you would consider swapping links with my own blog http://www.gardenofeaden.blogspot.com

    I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Simon

  7. This is a sad and clever post. Poor poor mum and ageratum. Now you know what we deal with every summer. I keep Safer 3 in 1 handy at all times to handle the mildew and stress of the plants—it works really well. Kept my verbena alive.

  8. Why Nancy, I do believe you’re the closest person to Mary Poppins I have ever met ;)
    I really enjoyed the way you turned things around with clever rhymes.
    In fact I’m teaching again and confronting the concept of 15-year old girls (pro) and boys (anti) that poetry is all about EMOTING ad infinitum. Mind if I use these verses to illustrate the possibilities of poetry???
    Jack

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

