David Copperfield, Where Are You?

Though they love to pose for the camera, you can see how water-logged these Gerbera blooms are.

“I’m just waiting for people to start asking me

to make the rain disappear.” – David Copperfield


What a  stretch of hot and humid weather we’ve had here in Nova Scotia — record breaking temperatures and humidex readings that rival those of tropical climes.  Add to that days of leaf-beating, bloom-ripping, mold-inducing, earwig-loving torrents of rain and, well, it’s not only been unpleasant, but downright nasty for the garden.  Or nasty for my container gardening, at least.

This morning, I took pruners in hand and removed every discoloured leaf and expired bloom I could find.  That helped a little.  Some things, such as the verbenas of all colours, are kaput — the wind and earwigs finished them off — so they were unceremoniously removed and tossed into the ditch (where they will probably take hold and bloom profusely for the rest of the summer!).  I combined two pathetic containers into one, where possible, and hope that we get a little sun later on to help start drying things out, although the forecast is for cloud straight through to Friday.  Gah!

So far, the hot, wet weather hasn't seemed to affect the Gerberas at all. These pink buds will soon open.

There are five distinct colours of lobelia growing in the garden this season, more by accident than design.  The large clump of dark blue/purple was bought as such — the rest came from a small flat of  ‘Regatta Mix’ I grabbed on the run.  I just love their little iris shaped blooms.

In this container, the lobelia consists of a dark blue/purple; a violet/pink in the centre; and a light powdery blue on the right, all at various stages of growth, obviously. (You can see the strip of aluminum foil in front of the door that is still keeping Mr. Pee Cat at bay!)
This white-with-blue/blue-with-white mix is very pretty.
And I do love this little clump of white which is spreading nicely in the little rhodie bed.
This 'Trusty Rusty' coleus is starting to take off; it can grow to a height of 18 - 24". I love the colour.

On these days that feel like a sauna and will frizz even the most well behaved hair dos, I’ve decided I’m only ever going to plant geraniums!  Geraniums and lobelia because nothing seems to phase them, and nothing seems to eat them.  Oh, and I do have one, lowly cosmos growing in a pot which has survived all of Mother Nature’s sense of humour.

David Copperfield, where are you?!

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

16 thoughts on “David Copperfield, Where Are You?”

  1. Send some of that wet down to Connecticut, please! We’ve got the hot, but it’s droughty, with even established shrubs getting the wilts! Nice to see how many plants do stand up to a surfeit of moisture – love especially the gerberas.

    You may have all the wet you want. :) The sun actually peeked through the clouds a little earlier, but it’s so steamy outside that it only makes it hotter anyway. Sigh. This is my first time growing Gerberas and surprisingly, they’re pretty tough. They’ve done well since I set them out.

  2. Love that rusty coleous! We have had unbearable hot weather followed by rain as well. At least the rain cooled things off. We will be back into the mid-thirties by Wednesday. I am dreading it already.

    This spell of high temps and humidity is supposed to stay with us for most of this week. I HATE it! :) I was never a big fan of coleus because all I’d ever seen were the standard greens and pinks that relatives would over-winter and set outside in the summer, but there are some really stunning patterns and colours. I hpe to use more another year.

  3. It is the same here, Nancy. My geraniums look awful, and so does my garden. In the morning, I have got to do some serious grooming. When is this weather going to end?

    Very soon, I hope! My geraniums are one of the few things that look okay. I’ve given up trying to rescue all my pots from downpours — I’m afraid they’ll have to fend for themselves from this point on! We’ll see who the fighters are. :-)

  4. I feel for you guys up there, dear. A couple friends of mine always go to Maine where it’s normally cooler than here, but this year they’re sweltering. Hang in there!

    Thanks, Debi — and yes, I understand the east coast is under the same nasty spell that we are. Ick!

  5. I enjoyed D. Copperfield’s comment. I’ve never before had good results with gerbera daisies – but this year, the ONE that I have is doing beautifully! Love your lobelia. Hang in there. (There are many varieties of geranium!) ;-)

    Hi Shady! I’ve got several types of geraniums and they’re all doing very well, but I must say there are some that I like more than others. My Gerberas (I only have the two plants) are doing well, also. Here’s hoping this wretched humidity clears soon!

  6. Sounds like my weather has decided to visit you a while. You have my sympathy. I am counting down the days till September when things will start to cool down, the humidity will become less oppressive, and plants and people will perk up again.

    I just hate to wish the time away, but I’m with you! Love the beautiful, warm, breezy days we had a while back — DETEST this humid heat!

  7. Thank you for the walk through your garden this steamy Monday. Yeah for the Hardy Geranium (they must taste real bad), king of the slug-infested garden. I’ve had wonderful luck with osteospermum this year, as well. The slugs don’t seem to bother them.

    We’ll have to return to this post in mid-winter, when we are cursing the dry cold winds. :-)

  8. Oh, I hate that you, too, have this nasty hot humid weather that’s blanketed all of Eastern N.A. In the Southeastern U.S., we’re vaguely ‘used’ to it, but it’s still yucky (especially when traveling through places like the mountains of West Virginia that should be cool!)

    But we’d be glad of some rain; at home in the Piedmont, it’s definitely getting droughty again.

  9. I’m at least pleased to see that my heirloom tomatoes and crystal lemon cucumbers are doing well after a rocky June. Now if only we can keep the tropical storms away in August so I can actually get a harvest!

  10. Very hot/humid here too, Nancy! I haven’t had a good hair day all summer :)

    Well, I just got mine cut very short and layered — it’s definitely wash-n-go and it suits this weather perfectly. :)

  11. I agree this has been a summer to try the patience of any gardener, Nancy. June was a month of constant rain for us, then the heat set in and dried everything out to the point that I’m wishing for rain again:) Your Gerbera daisies and lobelia are both looking so good, though–both of these are plants that always fizzle out in my containers. I’d love to know your secret to keeping them looking so healthy.

  12. Your lobelia is fetching! And maybe the rain is preventing it from doing what it usually does in July, which is to sort of lay down and play dead until cooler weather returns. The blue-on-white and white-on-blue is my favorite.

  13. It’s exhausting, isn’t it? I did manage to get half a dozen plants into the ground this afternoon, but have some more lined up to do tomorrow morning, when it’s (theoretically) cooler and the mosquitos and no-see-ums are sleeping in.

  14. It never ceases to amaze me how different it is growing plants in different climates. I would never have luck with coleus in July in So California. I love the rusty color of yours. Although, this July has been the coolest on record with fog every morning till noonish.. we gardeners must stay on our toes! Thanks for sharing your garden.

  15. Hi from the Canadian prairies.

    The weather sounds like it’s either feast (rain) or famine (drought). For us, this is the second year of pure wet weather. Last summer my annuals molded under the stress of the rain. Then came our short 1 month of summer in Novemer (2009) ha! ha! When we Manitobans normally have snow on the ground, fellas were still golfing. Go figure. The warm weather was disasterous on my perennials and roses. My hardy Morden roses never did prepare themselves for a long winter’s sleep and ergo I lost every one of them. Same thing with 25 other perennials. All lost to the warm November. Actually, the fact that when the second week in December came and temperatue plunged to -25F (-30c) and no snow cover…well you get the drift. Oh well, there’s always next year, right?

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

