A Recent Addition to The Garden

At last, a place to hang the hummingbird feeder. Hopefully, the ants leave it alone.

Just before some torrential downpours last evening, Charlie put up a wrought iron plant pole that we purchased this weekend.  I was never able to hang my hummingbird feeder on the balcony as any spillage of the sugary mixture would attract ants by the hundreds, so hopefully, it won’t be as much of a problem here.  The basket holds a hot pink geranium that I might swap out for something more interesting, but for now, it acts as a good counterweight.

Curly cues did the trick!

Despite the iron pole being 84″ high, by the time it was secured in the ground (under sod, for easy mowing), the feeder hung too low to be able to watch the hummers from inside, so Charlie remedied that by creating a “curly cue” to shorten the copper hanger — I actually think I like it better.

It’s going to be another dull, rainy day.  Everything is laying in water, and all my containers are pulled close to the patio windows, protected from the heaviest rain.  Even then, things are certainly well watered.  Bits of sun are promised for this week, but at this point, I’ll believe it when I see it!

And though you’re probably bored of looking at my daisies, they just photograph so well, wet or dry, that I offer another shot I took this morning. :)

They are certainly photogenic.

16 thoughts on “A Recent Addition to The Garden

  1. Thank you so much for featuring my blog on your website – it is truly an honor.

    Your blog is simply wonderful! The photos are exquisite and I am so happy that I found this site. I will definitely be stopping by frequently.

    Happy gardening,
    Jackie

    Hello Jackie — you’re very welcome and I look forward to your future visits. :)

  2. Hi Nancy, Great looking hanger! Oddly enough, here in Victoria, we have native hummers that stay here all winter. So we feed them through the winter and stop in June, because by then there are lots of flowers for them and also because the feeders attract wasps like mad.

    Oh, now don’t tell me that. :-/ I’d rather have ants than wasps! I hope all the critters stay away…except the hummers, of course. :-)

  3. I made the mistake of buying a wrought iron hanger at the dollar store. It’s “foot” was rather short and so I have only been able to hang very light things on it. Sometimes you get what you pay for!
    Your hanger looks great! I like the curly cue.
    Jennifer

  4. Nancy, I love the curly-cue and it looks stylish! So very glad you can hang a feeder~We will be seeing great hummer photos! gail

  5. Oh I love it. Very elegant, and well proportioned.

    I have been thinking about a hummingbird feeder for a long time, just can’t find one that was pretty. Not a big fan of those red plastic ones. Yours is really nice.

    Jen

  6. That is a pretty feeder, it looks like a piece of art. You must of had the same two days of rain as we did. I wish I had put my pots under cover.

  7. Nancy girl !
    I have been so engaged with working in the garden I haven’t been to blogs in ages .. I have also taken so many pictures it is overwhelming .. sorting them out and actually posting ? good grief ..
    Now you will be able to see the hummers .. especially when the sun comes out ? .. we had a few days of rain .. smack on the weekend which I didn’t mind a bit .. so that must be the weather you are having .. don
    t worry .. it will leave soon and the sun will shine once more !
    I love seeing rain drops on petals and plants .. it adds another dimension to the flower … so shoot away I say ! haha .. well it is time to get going here .. there are still a million little jobs to do in the garden but we actually have to get groceries by now ? oops ! LOL
    Fingers crossed for better weather girl !
    Joy : )

  8. I really like your new plant pole, Nancy, and the curlicue holder is so pretty–I think you’ve just given me an idea for a shopping excursion:) I used to hang one hummingbird feeder from a hook on our porch but discovered the ants could crawl up the support pole and invade the feeder. I haven’t had nearly as much problem with the feeders on poles like these. Hopefully, this will do the trick for you, too.

  9. Your hummingbird feeder is a work of art Nancy! Very pretty. I have the cheap, red plastic models. Your new pole is a great addition ~ I hope we see lots of fantastic hummingbird photos from you now. :-)

  10. That’s the prettiest feeder that I’ve seen. We’ve had a couple of hummers here everyday, but not like they will soon start feeding here. We get lots of them in the fall. Your photos are so beautiful. Thanks for reading and commenting. It really makes my day.

  11. Dear Nancy, What a lot has altered since I have been away, not least your website which really is most attractive together with a new name. It is, I feel, such fun to ring the changes! Your new iron pole is most attractive and functional too. How exotic to be able to attract humming birds. I wish….!

    Thank you so much for the very kind and thoughtful message which you left on my ‘Explanatory Note’. I was, and am, very touched and I do appreciate it.

  12. Thanks, everyone, for all your kind comments, and for taking the time to leave them. I so appreciate your visits.

    We’re still waiting for the hummers to find the feeder — it figures…one stopped by the other night and headed straight for the red cardinal graphic on the thermometer! I guess it will take a few days. :)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

