Loves Me, Loves Me Not

Gerbera jamesoni, so named for its discoverer, Robert Jameson and in honour of the German naturalist, Traugott Gerber

All summer she scattered the daisy leaves;
They only mocked her as they fell.
She said: “The daisy but deceives;
‘He loves me not,’ ‘he loves me well,’
One story no two daisies tell.”
Ah foolish heart, which waits and grieves
Under the daisy’s mocking spell.
– Helen Hunt Jackson

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

4 thoughts on “Loves Me, Loves Me Not”

  1. Good morning Nancy. I often wonder why poets connect flowers with love or sorrow or death? There are so many poems like the one you posted. The old poem about Barbry Allen is one I always think of.
    Marnie

    Hi Marnie! Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. Perhaps it is the brief but beautiful life cycle of a flower that leads poets to comparisons. :) These daisies, apparently, are associated with purity and innocence, thus why many brides choose them for their bouquets, I suspect. Good question!

  2. Lovely, and I am really into the photo, those droplets are gorgeous.

    Nice blog background, I guess, I really need to stop by with out first using Google Reader all the time.

    Jen

    Hi Jen, I’m so glad for your visit. The recent rain we’ve had has made for some good photo ops, but there’s no end in sight on the 5-day forecast. If we don’t mildew, I think they’ll be pretty. :)

  3. Pretty, and you know, I had forgotten about that poem. Thanks for reminding me. This color is nice, too. Is it a separate plant or a variation?

    Separate plant, Sandy — these ones are pinkish with a bit of pale yellow.

  4. These are so pretty, Nancy. My best friend has a similar color in pots on her back porch and they are just lovely! Good morning!

    Good morning, Debi! I first saw this colour in an arrangement we gave my Mom for her birthday, and loved it then. It’s planted with a deep red and a bubblegum pink verbena, so it should be bright — if it EVER stops raining!! Ugh. I feel a poem coming on. :-)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

