Rhodora! Adore Ya!

In full bloom...

“Rhodora! if the sages ask thee why
This charm is wasted on the earth and sky,
Tell them, dear, that if eyes were made for seeing,
Then Beauty is its own excuse for being.”
– Ralph Waldo Emerson

It would seem I had nothing to worry about as far as this little rhododendron was concerned.  Though I had my doubts, despite her diminutive size, she’s putting on a wonderful show!  I Charlie removed a thorny bush of some description that was nearly choking her and I plan to work that spot into a little bed for some perennials or bright annuals.  This little rhodie is the most wonderful colour…a rich red; the buds are nearly burgundy before they open.  I’ve given her some acidic food and hopefully, she continues to do well.  (I don’t know why I refer to it as a “she”…must be the lovely red frock!)

The contents of some of last summer's containers will help amend the soil for this little bed.

7 thoughts on “Rhodora! Adore Ya!

  1. Some flowers are female and that’s that! Sheis indeed a lovely red and under your care will surely thrive…gail

    I appreciate your vote of confidence, Gail. :) I’ve had rhododendrons before — a dark pink and a lavender, but never anything as red as this one. It just boggles the mind that something so “scraggly” could produce something this wonderful. :)

  2. Nancy, it’s one of my favorite colors in rhododendrons. It might be
    Jean Marie. My neighbors have it, and I enjoy watching it from my windows.

    It could well be ‘Jena Marie’, though I had it pegged as possibly ‘Nova Zembla’ because of the bloom and leaf colour, freckling on the upper/inner petal, and the overall shape and size of the bud. I’m sure i’ll never know for sure, but it truly IS red…and truly IS pretty. :) How nice that you get to enjoy your neighbour’s!

  3. I don’t know much about rhododendrons, but I like that color.

    It really is pretty, quite like any I’ve ever grown in the past. There are many red rhodies, but I’ve never had one before. :)

  4. Wishing her well, Nancy. She has a loving home and will surely flourish!

    I hope so, Joey. As long as I don’t embarrass her — I posted this quote a while back: “Science…tells us that geraniums bloom better if they are spoken to. But a kind word every now and then is really quite enough. Too much attention, like too much feeding…inhibits and embarrasses them.” – Victoria Glendinning :-)

  5. Love that rich red color Nancy. Truly a beauty. Glad it’s doing so well.

    Hi Kathleen — yes, I was surprised to see such gorgeous blooms on such a tiny (neglected) plant. I hope I don’t kill it! :)

  6. What a beautiful red. I hope she fills out for you this year and gives you even more stunning blooms next year. What a great color!

    It is spectacular and yes, I hope she fills out a little with some TLC. :)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

