Lust List: New for 2010

Snowstorm Blue Bacopa

Because most of my gardening is done in containers — as many as I can fit onto our front deck and that will spill over onto the surrounding lawn — I usually plant annuals, although I hope to have at least a couple of good sized beds this summer as well.  So when I saw what’s new for 2010 on Better Homes and Gardens site, I just had to share my excitement — my Lust List — with you.  If you click on any photo, it will take you directly to the BHG page where all growing information is provided.  I’ve chosen my favourites to showcase, but there are many more, of course.

Grandiosa Cherry Picotee Geranium

Isn’t this candy-cane colouring spectacular?

Potunia Cappuccino Petunia

While I’m not a huge fan of most petunias, the colour of these really grabbed my attention…

Double Take Cosmos

And these cosmos?

Princess Blush Verbena

I had such great luck with the verbena I grew last summer, it’s sure to be present in this year’s pots.  This would make a great contrast plant.

If I were able to plant perennials, here are some of the 2010 choices that would be on my Must Have list:

'Heronsood Pink Stars' Sedum

Heuchera 'Mint Julep'

And every single one of these coneflowers!

Echinacea 'Maui Sunshine'

Echinacea 'Marmalade'

Echinacea 'Coral Reef'

Echinacea 'Firebird' - wowser!

Echinacea 'Tangerine Dream'

I guess you can tell my preference is for BRIGHT in the garden!

Lastly, and this is a plant I definitely will search out, my favourite:

Bandito Rose Lantana

Can’t you see this combined with Citrus Blend?  Delicious!

These are but a few of the plants I lust after this season; I have enormous eyes and a tiny garden (and budget!)  What’s on your Lust List this year?

15 thoughts on “Lust List: New for 2010

  1. Lust List! Oh, wow….that’s so rich! I can NOT reveal my Lust List here ’cause it has nothin’ whatsoever to do with plants! LOL! Oh, sorry….oopsie….time to move on! Um, lovely list, Nancy. Especially adore the rainbow-oriented photos. If I HAD a PLANT Lust List a Dallas Red Lantana would top the list followed by any of those echinaceas you show. Clearly, I love the HOT colors best. Ahem.

    Oh, you’re a naughty girl. ;-) I love ALL Lantanas…I mean, I’m IN LOVE with them. Love, love, love! I hope I can find a spot for them this summer. I love rich, bright colour in the garden, too — we have all winter to looks at pastels and white…give me colour! :)

  2. I am going to bookmark this page so that I can get these names for next spring. I think that you might be able to grow a tub, or of some these. Lots of my garden catalogs have more and more container plants each year. I may be doing container gardening when we move to New Mexico. Depends on what kind of place we pick to live.

  3. Hey there Nancy and wow ! that is a lust list for sure .. but they are all gorgeous and I want them too ! haha
    I finally found Tiki Torch coneflower at a reasonable price and planted it by Ms Flame so I am thinking it should show off quite well with her .. next is Pennisetum setaceum rubrum ‘Fireworks’ I fell for it as soon as I saw it .. I don’t mind that it is an annual .. although how awesome would it be as a perennial ?? !!
    So many plants to love .. it is mind boggling .. and heaven knows mine is boggled enough ? LOL

  4. Wow Nancy ~ these are all eye-popping! Love all the bright colors. I wish I had seen ‘double take’ cosmos when I was ordering seeds. Those are extremely beautiful, especially for a pink lover. Also those ‘Maui Sunshine’ Echinacea look like spots of sunshine ~ I think I could use some of them. I hope I see some of these in my local garden centers & I hope you get a few (or all) of them also! Have a good weekend!

  5. Hi Nancy. Well that is such a great lustful list LOL! I could lust after
    the Verbena and the Cosmos, Wow! To your orange Echinacea you need to add the new Hot Papaya that I planted this spring. It is a hot orange too. It does look a lot like your Coral Reef one. Always gotta have Lantana for the butterflies and maybe us too ;-)

  6. This is how I spend the last months of winter, Nancy–lusting over plant sites and catalogs. My eyes are usually bigger than my garden space or my wallet:) That lantana really has me hooked, though–I will definitely look for that one!

  7. Nancy – I love the format of your updated blog site, it’s so striking! Your ‘lust list’ is absolutely fabulous – the choices are fantastic! (The weather here actually broke into a sunny breezy cool day… and I hear the nurseries calling my name!) Thanks for the inspriation! -Shyrlene

  8. Aren’t those petunias interesting? I haven’t seen them before. Happy to hear that you will have more room to plant this year.
    Balisha

  9. Nice selections! I remember when my parents planted some Echinacea purpurea around the farm house growing up in Ontario, Canada and I liked it back then. Lately they seem to be getting more creative and exotic each year. Really like the color contrast on that Cosmos bloom as well. I’d grow all these plants if I had the room.
    On the topic of plants in general; I seen not just one but several more Eucommia ( Hardy Rubber Tree ) today in Baltimore as well as Castor Oil Tree’s. Just uploaded the photos onto the blog. Very attractive trees, wish they were more available in the nursery trade.
    Hope you have a great week!!! TTYS

  10. Love the echinacea, especially the yellow one and the Firebird. I find that the newer varieties are so expensive! I wish they were more affordable, because they are so spectacular in your photos.

  11. I am loving your list. I have so many colors in my garden and it makes me giddy. A neighbor walked by the other day and commented that she could not wait for my garden to bloom out. She said she walks quite a ways out of her way just to pass my garden. And I feel you bring the same joy to those around you with this celebration of color. I hope you find them all–especially that last lantana–and yes!, it would look awesome with Citrus Blend.

  12. Yum, yum…I’m just returning to the wired world after a bad computer incident, so I’m even further behind than usual. Love the ‘lust list’…now I’m just trying to remember who has the lantana you crave. I think you’ll find something to your liking either at Glad Gardens in Waterville or at Gerry Frail’s in Centreville. I just can’t remember what I got where. But I love lantanas…

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

