Garden Bloggers’ Muse Day – “On May Morning”

Now the bright morning Star, Day’s harbinger,
Comes dancing from the East, and leads with her
The Flowery May, who from her green lap throws
The yellow Cowslip, and the pale Primrose.
Hail bounteous May that dost inspire
Mirth and youth, and warm desire,
Woods and Groves, are of thy dressing,
Hill and Dale, doth boast thy blessing.
Thus we salute thee with our early Song,
And welcome thee, and wish thee long.

– by John Milton, On May Morning

*   *   *

Garden Bloggers’ Muse Day is hosted by Carolyn at Sweet Home & Garden Chicago on the first day of every month.  Won’t you join in?

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

7 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers’ Muse Day – “On May Morning””

  1. What a lovely photo and thoughts by John Milton. Wonderful for this first day of May.

    FlowerLady

    Milton was such an epic poet…did you know that he was blind? I do like this poem very much. May is one of my favourite months.

  2. WOW !!!!!
    Nancy girl your blog is looking FANTASTIC !!!
    I love it .. I am totally jealous girl ! LOL
    I love the template and colours so much I forgot what I was going to say ? ;-)
    The woodland solitude .. that is totally gorgeous .. that would be my retreat to gather my sanity again with such chaos at the castle .. I will post pictures this week of the huge upheaval going on in the back garden …
    I love what you have done here .. I want to LIVE here ! LOL
    Joy

    Well, you know that you would be most welcome, Joyous. :) Thanks for the thumbs up!

  3. Your blog looks great. And, so does this photo. I might do this next month, didn’t know about it.

    I hope you will join in, Sandy — there are always such beautiful posts. I’ve discovered a lot of new poems and reveled in some old ones. You’re welcome to write your own, too — which would be a bonus. :)

  4. I love your new look, Nancy! And the daisies are beautiful! Having read Milton in college and after teaching a small excerpt of “Paradise Lost” to high schoolers for many years, I have to say, Nancy, this is by far my favorite poem by him:)

    Ah yes, Paradise Lost. Truly an epic, that. I love the feel of this poem; it expresses perfectly the way I feel about the month. And thanks for your kind words about the new template. I’m enjoying it, too. :)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

