A Crystal Rock Garden

More properly called a garden of rock crystals, this charming little garden grew from a small kit my daughters included in my sock this past Christmas.  All I had to do was place the rocks provided in a small glass bowl and cover them with distilled (white) vinegar.  Voila!  Two weeks later, the vinegar has evaporated, leaving behind these teensy little crystal “flowers”.  A few drops of food colouring provided the “blooms” which were otherwise white.  Another fun science experiment — isn’t Nature grand?

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

12 thoughts on “A Crystal Rock Garden”

  1. How fun is this?! I love that your daughters gave you something with which to play, that brought such joy! This is the perfect gift, imho! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I used to love projects like this when I was little. Although ours was more low-tech. A glass, a pencil, some string, table salt and water. I watched that glass of salty water for weeks as the crystals grew on the string. Now I wish we’d added food coloring!

  3. aloha nancy,

    it does feel a little like autumn, it must be nice to have a large picture window like yours to observe nature happening daily!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

