Sunday (And Birthday) Reflections

“Little brook! Little brook!
You have such a happy look-
Such a very merry manner, as you swerve and curve and crook-
And your ripples, one and one,
Reach each other’s hands and run
Like laughing little children in the sun!”
– fr. ‘The Brook Song’, by James Whitcomb Riley

First of all, let me thank each and every one of you who left happy birthday wishes for me both on My Plot on Blotanical, and on Facebook.  I truly appreciate your thoughtfulness. I had a happy day, indeed, and couldn’t have ordered up a more picture perfect day with sun, cloudless skies, and temperatures well above the freezing mark.  I chatted with both of my daughters and grandson by phone, and we had dinner (complete with cheesecake!) at my parents’ house.  We drove home at sunset with a spectacular sky in the rearview mirror.  I couldn’t have planned it better.

It seems when we reach a certain age–one that is probably different for everyone–birthdays take on a more philosophical, reflective quality.  I recall that when I turned 50, there was such a sense of frantic urgency that, having reached this milestone, if there were anything I wanted to do with my life, I’d better get on with it now.  At 55, that sense of desperation has faded.  55 feels more settled, whether I actually am or not.  What’s left is more a feeling of contentment acceptance:  that “the Universe is unfolding as it should”, so to speak, and that, perhaps what I’m doing right now is exactly what I’m supposed to be doing.  So much so, in fact, that 2010 feels like it’s going to be “my year”.

There were many reflections along the wooded road we took this evening.  Reflections on birthdays — reflections on Spring!  Even in the darkest, forested sections of road, ice was disappearing before our very eyes and brooks and freshets really did laugh like little children in the sun.

It won’t be long before these wetlands will be free of ice and snow, and the spring peepers will be out in full force!  That is when I feel like Spring has well and truly arrived.

Our winters seem so long, but truly, it hardly seems like any time at all since we bemoaned the fact that we had to put our gardens to bed for the winter, and now here we are, already starting seedlings, searching for tiny green sprouts, spotting robins, finding tiny white blossoms in the snow.  I mean, really — the world is just awesome! Boom-de-ah-dah!

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

17 thoughts on “Sunday (And Birthday) Reflections”

  1. So glad it was such a great day. My 55 is next year… for the 50th my husband ordered 50 old crows to be put in the front yard(he could have gotten flamingoes–but these crows looked like Heckle and Jeckle.) So the 50th was more of a big laugh. I think birthdays should be fun. I think my 30th I was more intraspective. Oh well. Glad yours was a good one.

  2. Nancy girl those photos are so beautiful .. the last one with the evening light was stunning .. something about water and reflection , well it quenches the soul doesn’t it ?
    Glad to hear I have a better sense of adjustment to look forward to ? thank you girl !!
    Joy
    PS .. that cheesecake mention ? Now you made me THINK of IT !!!

  3. Ah, such a nice birthday you had, dear. We are of similar age and I understand exactly what you mean. Your reflection photos are stellar, Nancy. Reflection photos on a day of reflection with beautiful skies and warmth of sunshine and family. Couldn’t ask for more than that, eh? Happy Birthday again, dearie.

  4. A belated Happy Birthday, Nancy! Sounds like you had a wonderful day. I think as we get older, each birthday is indeed a time for reflection, and being a few years older than you, I think I’m now past worrying about what each age means and am just thankful to be here to enjoy yet another spring. And yes, spring will come!

  5. I’m so glad your birthday was wonderful, Nancy.
    I am of your vintage and opinion. At this point in life, I am thankful to be alive and well enough to still be useful and active. I mean to do the most good with my remaining time that I possibly can, and to have fun doing it!

  6. Nancy, your blog is one of my favorites, so I recommended you to Blog Interviewer. However, I need to warn you that they try to get you to sign up for offers after you have gone to all the trouble of writing info about your blog.

  7. Happy belated birthday to you,
    Happy belated birthday to you,
    Happy belated birthday dear Nancy,
    Happy belated birthday to you.

    Wonderful post full of reflections and beautiful pictures. I hope that this is your year…Nancy.
    Hugs…Balisha

  8. Nancy, It will be your year Nancy…you’ve announced your intentions and the universe will oblige….You will make it so. I so enjoyed your reflections. Happiest of Birthday months! gail

  9. I am glad you had a great day! The brook photos are quite moving and really reflect what you said about life. I am so happy to see spring arriving. Happy gardening (and blogging)for many years to come!

  10. Nancy-
    All my best birthday wishes to you (although a bit late). Your photos and reflections are wonderful, and I appreciate the settled feeling that mid-50’s brings, too. I’ll turn 55 in May, and it’s certainly a different one than 50.

    Thanks for an excellent post!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

