A Rainbow in the Garden

(Spectrum of colour painted on my office wall by a crystal hanging in the window.)

“I know that if odour were visible, as colour is, I’d see the summer garden in rainbow clouds.” – Robert Bridges

Rebecca, at In the Garden,  has invited garden bloggers to search their photo albums for summer colour that may create a rainbow to brighten these dull, grey days of winter.  The most basic of rainbow colours are red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet, as is clearly seen in the photo above.  Below are my offerings…my rainbow clouds of flowers.  Thanks for the idea, Rebecca.

RED petunia bloom

ORANGE (if a bit peachy) petunia and verbena blooms

YELLOW Bidens (with a hint of pink verbena)

I’ve never grown a GREEN flower (yet!), but this nasturtium leaf sports a healthy green.

True BLUE seems hard for me to find in the garden — along the roadside:  chicory.

INDIGO (blue )lobelia

Finally, the VIOLET of this blue verbena.

17 thoughts on “A Rainbow in the Garden

  1. Wow Nancy, Thank you for your stunning contribution! Your post is beautiful I especially like the angle of the petunia flower, very artistic. I’m surprised at how drawn I am to the greens that are being posted, the are generally foliage, and might be considered ‘plain’ compared to the glourious blooms, but they are oh so lovely. The little dew drops are a perfect addition. :) Rebecca

  2. great shots. I love the ‘green envy’ zinnia, so much in fact that this year I’m trying to collect just green flowers. I also have some tulips that are green barely tinged with pink ‘groenland’. Green flowers make little bits of color seem so very dramatic :)

  3. I love your rainbow of flowers, Nancy! Everyone’s “rainbows” are really brightening things up this cold, damp winter! Thanks so much.

  4. Nancy girl these are beautiful shots and I am so tempted to do this as well (I started to look at pictures last night and I was overwhelmed by how many I have and having to shoose one of each .. gave me a headache ! haha)
    It is so true though .. we do have rainbows in our gardens : )

  5. So glad to see you post chicory, Nancy, as it’s one of the plants I instantly relate to Windsor and surrounding areas. Love the shot of the rainbow on the wall; I have a lot of crystals in my windows so on sunny days it looks like a rainbow in here.

  6. Hi Nancy, I’m so glad you posted that lovely rainbow of blooms. It really is a mood lifter after months of seeing nothing outside my window but snow and gray skies. I just love that red petunia. The color just screams ‘summer’:)
    Marnie

  7. Hi Nancy. This was such a fun project Rebecca started. It made me really look at the colors in my garden and what was lacking. You had all the colors and they are gorgeous.I love you Bidens and the Lobelia. Beautiful colors for a snow covered day.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

