Resolutions The Garden Helps Us Keep

(A snowy weekend provided a winter wonderland early this morning.)

The holidays have come and gone in the usual, predictable blur of anticipation and busyness.  The turkey has been carved, picked clean of its meat, its carcass turned into hearty soup.  In most homes, the tree has been dismantled, the decorations disassembled, and visiting family has returned home.  Christmas has been put away for another year.

Our thoughts turn to the new year — a new decade — and the changes we hope to see, the promises we make to ourselves.  Resolutions. I’ve never been one to make hard and fast rules for a new year, such as vowing to lose “x” amount of pounds before this year ends or to see “x” amount of dollars in a savings account.  Those literal pledges are easily made…and just as easily broken.

But a new year does hold promise.  Another chance to get it right, as Oprah would put it.  There are always things about our lives that we’d like to change; new things we’d like to try; old things we’d like to improve upon.  And I turn to the garden, in my mind’s eye, to illustrate some of the things I want to work on.

Try to be more patient. “Adopt the pace of nature:  her secret is patience.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson I’ve always been a somewhat impatient person, one who loathes tardiness and detests waiting.  I’m going to work on that little quirk and try to “adopt the pace of Nature”.  The garden teaches patience as we watch tiny seeds grow to seedlings, then to fledgling plants, and finally to mature bloom.  We never speak to the garden with impatience (with the possible exception of jodi, yelling at the goutweed!) but instead, take joy in watching the progress of growth.  I will endeavour to do the same.

Be more daring; take more risks. “What is more mortifying than to feel you’ve missed the plum for want of courage to shake the tree?” – Logan Pearsall Smith 2010 will find Charlie and I shaking the tree pretty hard!  At the end of January/first of February, we’ll be assuming the position of Superintendents of our 24-unit apartment building.  Not only is this an interesting challenge and a financial shot in the arm, but we will also be moving into an apartment on the ground floor that has a lovely deck, better view, and much more room for gardening.  I’m sure there will be headaches along the way, but right now, I’m very excited about the move and the new possibilities, as well as looking forward to doing some landscaping and creating new gardening space.

Overcome fear; behold wonder. “The weeds keep multiplying in our garden, which is our mind ruled by fear. Rip them out and call them by name.” – Sylvia Browne This is simply a reminder to myself to not let anything stand in the way of doing the things I long to do, and also, to take time always to behold the wonder of the world around me.  In the hustle and bustle of our daily lives, we often forget.  So, I will make an effort to “rip those weeds out and call them by name”, then toss them in that virtual compost where all unfounded fears should go.

Bloom where you’re planted. Always a favourite sentiment, though its source is a mystery.  But it is a wonderful reminder to all of us as we enter a new year — do be the best you can, with what you’ve got, no matter where you are.

May 2010 bring good health, prosperity, much happiness, and an abundance of blooms to each and every one of you!

14 thoughts on “Resolutions The Garden Helps Us Keep

  1. I come to your journal and am reminded of how powerful the right words can be, Pure poetry.

    Good luck on the move and think of it, also, as a way to get rid of clutter or just things you can let go. It’s a new beginning. Choose wonder over fear. Janie

  2. Beautiful snow scenes Nancy. Good thoughts to hold close to our hearts as the new year unfolds. Good luck with the new positions and your new place. Hope your move goes easily.

  3. I so totally relate to “bloom where you’re planted,” but that’s a hard, hard, hard thing to do sometimes. Especially when you’re planted over and over and over and over and over and over….well, you get the idea. Good luck with them all, dear, and Happy New Year!

  4. Good advice and resolutions (thought changes) for the year.Enjoying more everyday and stopping to literally smell the roses.Trying different things is something I wanted to start doing last fall and into this spring. I am so ‘I hate change’ sort of person that it is hard for me to step out into different areas. As I age I am learning to let a lot more fall by the wayside.
    I am thrilled to hear of the new position for you and wish you and DH well with it. A new year filled with new blessings is a wonderful way to start.

  5. Nancy, thanks for the resolution thoughts! I will take with me the “Be daring, take more risks” as I am a very shy person, and don’t always want to join into new adventures. But, I have learned from the garden blogging world that there are so many great people out there I can meet if I only take the first step. Hope that you have a wonderful new year, and that your new adventures are fruitful. Kathy

  6. Lovely thoughts on your resolutions, Nancy. Sounds like you are feeling much better with inspiring dreams to look forward to in the New Year … may they all come true!

  7. Always a treat to stop by and visit with you. Your world is so lovely, and I am adoring those gorgeous snowy photos. Just hoping that it stays in your part of the country.

    Jen

  8. Very nicely thought out, Nancy. :-)

    This year I am thinking more about shifts that resonant in many areas of my life rather than specifice resolutions. I’ve found that writing it out helps so you have motivated me to ‘get to it’!

  9. These are inspiring thoughts to take with us into the New Year, Nancy. Patience and daring to take risks are both qualities I could definitely work on. I have been trying for the past year to spend more time “in the moment”–the garden is a wonderful place to practice that feeling. Good luck with your move, Nancy; I know you’ll enjoy having more space for gardening!

    P.S. I just added my name to your “First Snowfall Project.”

  10. I’m so excited for you! More room for gardening! Just the words ‘ground floor’ imply close to the earth. Perfect for you. I’m really happy, Nancy. Loads of new gardening fun for you.

  11. A wonderfully written reflection, and an inspiring one. Thanks! Your photos are lovely, as usual. Delighted to know that you’ll have a bit more space for gardening in the coming year, too. I know you’ll fill it with great plants.
    Lisa

  12. Hi Nancy,
    Thanks for letting me know you’re putting a link to my first snowfall. I went in and added a link to your blog, saying I just remembered to have it added, and for those who aren’t familiar to my blog, to click on “home” to see how much snow we have now.

    I am glad I had a chance to read this wonderful post. I have been feeling impatient with my 27 year old daughter, as she is in the process of moving. I have put way more work into it than she has. She knows we paid her rent at the new place, and she has the whole month to get moved. I think yesterday, I finally got her on my page, where I am wanting to get her out and all the cleaning done by the middle of the month in hopes of getting most of the deposit money, which will come back to me. I spent 10 hours cleaning yesterday, and she finally got the rest of the stuff packed last night.

    I hope your move goes smoothly. Enjoy your new gardening opportunities! Happy New Year! There were other things you said that I liked, but now that I did some venting, I can’t remember what they were at the moment. Yes, it is good to bloom where we are planted, and find satisfaction in what is in front of us.

  13. Nancy, somehow I missed this post (damn blotanical!) and am delighted for your new adventure and new space for gardening. You’ll do fine. If you deal with your tenants with the same wisdom and patience you show in your blog, you’ll be respected and honoured for your kind soul. It’ll be fine. I’m really proud of you.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

