GB Muse Day – Jan 2010

“The night is darkening round me,
The wild winds coldly blow;
But a tyrant spell has bound me
And I cannot, cannot go.
The giant trees are bending
Their bare boughs weighed with snow.
And the storm is fast descending,
And yet I cannot go.
Clouds beyond clouds above me,
Wastes beyond wastes below;
But nothing dear can move me;
I will not, cannot go.”
– Emily Bronte, Spellbound

GBMD is hosted on the first of each month by Carolyn of Sweet Home and Garden Chicago.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

11 thoughts on “GB Muse Day – Jan 2010”

  1. Nancy, I wonder what it would be like to experience winters like EB describes! I suspect you know! A beautiful photo for an elegant and descriptive piece of writing. Happiest of new years to you. gail

  2. So, so beautiful. I wish for some snowy weather, but it is not going to happen at my house. So, I am planning a trip a couple of hours north to enjoy some beautiful snowy landscapes. I wish for you a very Happy 2010.

  3. One of my fav writers is dear Emily. She has put it so well how harsh winter can be. Today we have snow here so my garden looks very much like the one in your pic. ;-)

    Happy New Year, Nancy!

  4. Nancy .. that picture is perfect and pairing it with Bronte is the golden touch. You have reminded me to try and get out into the country side (when it isn’t too cold) and really LOOK for the potential pictures waiting for me to capture them ?
    It is amazing how much satisfaction you feel when you know you have gotten “the one” that truly does feel that way : )
    Joy

  5. Bronte’s words mirrored my feelings of awe as I watched that gentle, fluffy snowfall all day, all night. Spellbound. Beautiful, Nancy.

  6. Oh, what great verse for those photos. I need to pull out my Bronte and have a read. It’s cold here in the Deep South, but of course, NOTHING like you have there.

  7. Very tranquil, Nancy, though I suspect it’s not quite so tranquil tonight, despite the green that Environment Canada has painted Hants county on their storm warning page! Happy New Year, and stay warm and dry…

  8. I can understand how the sight of the falling snow draws one to the window. I love sitting and watching it. This is a wonderful poem,, Nancy. Thank you for sharing. (Perfect photo, as usual!)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

