Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

Baby, it’s cold outside!  I’d like to be able to tell you just how cold, but as you can see, even the thermometer is obscured by Jack Frost’s art work.  The weather page says it’s -11°C … that’s about 13°F for the metrically challenged. :)

Cold, but beautiful.

The play of morning light makes this design look almost 3D.


Look out! Look out!
Jack Frost is about!
He’s after our fingers and toes;
And all through the night,
The gay little sprite
Is working where nobody knows.
He’ll climb each tree,
So nimble is he,
His silvery powder he’ll shake.
To windows he’ll creep
And while we’re asleep
Such wonderful pictures he’ll make.
Across the grass
He’ll merrily pass,
And change all its greenness to white.
Then home he will go
And laugh ho, ho ho!
What fun I have had in the night.

Jack Frost by C. E. Pike

14 thoughts on “Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

  1. Cold but beautiful, indeed Nancy! I’ve just decided to saddle up the faithful Yaris and head off to Bedford to pick up my wallpaper border & see my friends at Saltscapes, but the car has snow tires and a good stereo, so I’m not worried.
    Your phrost photos are beautiful…cold, but beautiful.

  2. It looks really cold. Beautiful though. I wanted to thank you for stopping by the blog and also to wish you and your loved ones a very Merry Christmas.

    Back to the photos–I can’t help but think of that movie, Dr. Zhivago, with all those cold Russian winters! But mostly, the way ice looed on windows and trees. Sleepy weather. But also dreamy.

    Really beautiful photos.

  3. It looks really cold. Beautiful though. I wanted to thank you for stopping by the blog and also to wish you and your loved ones a very Merry Christmas.

    Back to the photos–I can’t help but think of that movie, Dr. Zhivago, with all those cold Russian winters! But mostly, the way ice looed on windows and trees. Sleepy weather. But also dreamy.

    Really beautiful photos.

  4. Your photos are so gorgeous, Nancy! I shudder at the frost on our windows ever morning, but enjoy the beauty, too. But none of your frost photos are as beautiful as that photo of Toby! Is he yours? What a stunningly beautiful cat!!!

    TOBY IS FLATTERED! HE’S A WONDERFUL, BIG BOY…A 7 YEAR OLD TURKISH ANGORA. HE WEIGHS 12 LBS AND I THINK 90% OF THAT IS FUR. :) HE WAS A RESCUE KITTY; HE’S GREAT COMPANY AND I LOVE HIM TO BITS.

  5. That’s very cold! That was a common sight when I was a kid in St Louis, MO. Your photos are splendid and shivery! Nolan looks so adorable with Santa…I imagine this will be a wonderful Christmas for you all. Will you see him? gail Btw, I am metrically~~and ought not to admit that to anyone.

  6. Frost art work on the windows is one of my childhood memories. The layer of the frost was very thick, the pattern was absolutely beautiful and very sophisticated. Thank you for the picture and lovely poem. I want snow! Share with us, Canadian people, share!

  7. I am metrically challenged too but working at getting better…
    We had some of that cold weather last week, then five or so days of more seasonable temperatures but now the cold is supposed to return. ugh. I’m happy to see the first (official) day of winter as it means spring is that much closer! Happy holidays to you and your family Nancy.

  8. Brrrrrrrrrrr!!!!! This Southern gal loves looking at the beautiful frost but am glad to not have it here…at least, not today! Beautiful photos, dearie.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

