First Snow at First Light

At first light this morning, the sky was a spectacular colour, the bottom of the clouds painted in apricots and golds.  November skies are the prettiest of the year, in my opinion, both at the first and last light of day.

We also had our first dusting of snow overnight — certainly not enough to qualify for “The First Snowfall”, but it stayed on the ground for hours, just the same.  The sun has taken it now, at late morning.

I remind everyone to take some photos of your first snowfalls, big or small, and post them for The First Snowfall Project.  Information on how to participate in this year’s project can be found at the top of my sidebar.

16 thoughts on “First Snow at First Light

  1. We average snow about once every 30 years. My husband had seen snow once when he was drafted into the Army, ‘way back when. I think there’s been a flurry here once since then.

    Maybe this is the year.

  2. I LOVE THE SNOW, AND THAT’S PROBABLY A GOOD THING AS WE USUALLY GET LOTS OF IT. :) I’LL POST A TRULY SNOWY PHOTO AFTER OUR FIRST SIGNIFICANT SNOWFALL … POSSIBLY COMING THIS WEEKEND. THANKS FOR TAKING THE TIME TO COMMENT, TO ALL!

  3. Nancy, That is a beautiful shot~~Don’t we live on a beautiful continent! The first bit of snow is always delightful. Here in Nashville it is frequently the last bit of snow, too! gail

  4. Your dawn photograph is beautiful. I’m glad it doesn’t count as the first snowfall, because we have also had snow twice, but it melted my 10 am. In all, it has been an extremely mild fall. Still I’m hoping some people are already thinking of planting season because I’ve got a GIVEAWAY – Nan Ondra’s great new book, The Perennial Care Manual. Visit and leave a comment by midnight Dec. 5.

  5. I do love to see the first one. It seems so refreshing and officially announces winter around here. They use to come plentiful when I was a kid but not so much in the last couple of years. We might get some on Saturday!

  6. The first snow either excites one or causes dread for what is to come. It is always fun to see the first one though. Maybe its the kid in me that still gets excited.After Christmas the excitement fades and it can not go soon enough ;-)

  7. What about the rest of those cretins on that show?? Making millions to show up at parties. Makes me sick when their are decent young people who struggle to get through college. All exhibit such bad behavior and are rewarded for it. Yes, it is the end of decent civilization

  8. if anyone needs any proof that our country is doomed, it is the fact that ANYONE even knows the name of this useless dingbat. knowing of her existence is bad enough, but the fact that there are throngs of people who voluntarily follow this perosn is nauseating. we are done as a country. done.

  9. Thanks for the �modified� honest food guide. I think that you are right on with the changes here! I just may have to print this off and hang it in the kitchen to keep it all in mind.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

