Still Colour To Be Found

colour_roseThough the best of Autumn’s colour has drifted into a golden carpet by now, there is still much colour to be found if one looks closely.  For example, this rose bush just off the balcony displays a quiet splotch of red and green.  Don’t those thorns look like cats’ claws?

colour_edgewoodsAlong the narrow strip of woods at the edge of the property…

colour_spirea…and in this spirea hedge, which not so long ago exhibited tangerines and reds, there is still a warm, golden glow in the sun of midday.

colour_viburnumEven though this viburnum has shed most of its fall colour, these brilliant red berries add a splash of cheer to the view and must be a welcome sight to wintering birds.

Nature takes her time, and I think we sometimes try to rush the seasons as if Autumn were some sort of Purgatory between Summer and Winter.  Cold and rainy one day, and warm and sunny with summery temperatures the next, it’s not much wonder, I guess.  I don’t know how many times I’ve overheard someone say, “I wish it would just get cold and stay that way…it’s November, after all.”  Instead, why not accept these glorious days of sun and shirt-sleeve temps as a lovely gift from Nature and embrace them as such.  There is no doubt: winter will be here soon enough.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

9 thoughts on “Still Colour To Be Found”

  1. Oh my goodness, Nancy! I wish fall would linger forever and winter would never come! Guess I need to work on my attitude, too!

  2. I’m quite enjoying knowing that I can get out for a noon walk when at the office without bundling up like the Michelin Man. I really think the autumn has its own special beauty and I’ll take every mild day there is to enjoy it :)

    Lovely pics – I noticed the same golden wash on a mass planting of spirea here in Edmonton – what a nice treat!

  3. Yes to that, Nancy, let fall hang around for as long as it wants. These Indian Summer days we are now experiencing, the warmth of the sun, before the cold blasts at the end of the month as most welcome. There is still lots of color to view beyond the leaves of the large deciduous trees. I love that rose, and thanks for pointing out the claws! :-)
    Frances

  4. The last days of Autumn are precious for the variations in golds and browns, the gentle breezes and the warm sunshine. I am embracing it Nancy~~tomorrow I’ll head over the mountains to fairgarden! gail

  5. Thank you for sharing your beautiful day with us! I know you’ll be experiencing your Winter weather before we do, but as long as we can enjoy being outdoors, we’ll be there!! :-) And we’ll take it one day at a time! Enjoy your weekend!

  6. It seems sometimes that the seasonal cycle moves so rapidly. Wasn’t it winter just a short while ago?

    I think you’re right though, Nancy, that we need to enjoy autumn in all it’s changeable moods, and not be in a hurry for winter to arrive in good earnest.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

