GB Bloom Day – September 09

pink_impatiensHeavy showers throughout the day precluded getting any really pretty shots, but impatiens are two of the plants that are still loaded in a profusion of blooms.  The pink ones had been plucked from their mother plant in a thundershower and deposited in a neighbouring container — I think they actually look rather beautiful against the bark mulch.  Below, the white impatiens really stand out against their deep green foliage.  Both colours have been star performers all summer.  In fact, I think they look their best now that the weather has cooled.

white_impatiensWhat’s blooming in your garden today?  Why not participate in Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day, hosted by Carol of May Dreams Gardens.

8 thoughts on “GB Bloom Day – September 09

  1. Your blog’s header says Fall, but your impatients say Summer. Simple, elegant flowers. Lovely.

    The pastel palette is usually not one of my favourites, but I must say these little pink flowers won me over this summer. :)

  2. I think the impatiens look lovelier in the rain! My impatiens have done better this year than ever before; I agree they must like the cooler, wetter weather.

    We had so much heat and humidity this summer, it’s a wonder they survived at all, but they really do seem to like this new temperature. :)

  3. I really like impatiens. And for some reason, the feeling must be mutual. They’ve reseeded all summer and are growing all over the place. Lots of fun!! ;-)

    They’ve always grown well for me, in containers, and I think the pots keep them compact, too.

  4. The petals do look grand against mulch. We lived in California once and they grew huge. I’d never seen them so large. Here in NC, they have to grow in shade or dappled light. Too hot otherwise.

    Yes, they are shade lovers, for sure. There were a few days over the summer when they wilted in the hottest part of the day, but always bounced back with a cool drink and the movement of the sun. :)

  5. Nancy girl I am an impatiens fan too .. I love the ones with dark dark foliage .. it sets off the flowers so beautifully ! We haven’t had rain in too long .. that hose mission keeps staring me in the face ! : ) LOL
    Joy

    I hope you get a bit of rain soon, Joy. We had a couple of days of steady showers, but we’re back to sun again today.

  6. Impatiens are great plants for cool climates and rain. We need to grow them in shade, and they sulk in dry weather here.

    Lovely nevertheless – isn’t that what makes gardening fun!

    It is, indeed, Lisa. :)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

