My Garden Blooms!

toolsThis is a poem I wrote last summer whose sentiment seems appropriate for this time of the season, so I thought I would re-post it for any who might not have read it last year.

My Garden Blooms!

At August’s end we hold our breath
And wait for Summer’s certain death;
We spend our gardening time in dread,
Composting much-loved flower heads.

We dig and weed and mulch and till,
Hanging on to warm days still
Occurring, though they’re shortened soon
By early dusks and golden moon.

We walk our garden paths with sighs
That summer goes so quickly by;
Cupping one persistent bloom
That helps dispel this August gloom.

Pshaw!” say I, don’t be so glum,
Look forward to the days to come!
Just think of all the kneeling, raking,
Bending, til your back is aching.

Of all the whirligigs and gnomes,
Gazing balls and Old Toad homes
That must be cleaned and put away,
Made ready for another day.

Of pools to empty, ponds to drain,
Gourds to pick before fall rains.
Hoes and spades and other tools
Must all be stored as weather cools.

But I, for one, embrace the days
Of clear, crisp air and morning haze,
Of walks though tunnels red and gold,
Of wisps of smoke as nights grow cold.

Of quilts and books beside the fire,
Pumpkin pies and apple cider.
And soon enough, a crystal frost
When heat of Summer’s truly lost.

Though I’ll be glad for cooler air,
I’ll bide my time til it is here;
We mustn’t wish away our days,
But fill them in delightful ways.

So, for today, my garden blooms!
Although it might be over soon,
These days of August still bring pleasure.
Embrace your fading garden treasures!
– (c) 2008 Nancy J. Bond

9 thoughts on “My Garden Blooms!

  1. I love this Nancy. Your poem, with photographs interspersed, would make a perfect gift book for gardeners!

    I can tell you enjoy autumn, too. That’s my favorite season, for the reasons you express in stanzas seven and eight.

    I do love the fall, Joyce, and thanks for your very kind words about my poem. :) I’ve thought of compiling a coffee table type book of a few illustrated poems, but they’re so expensive. I’ll have to do some more research on it. They’d make good family Christmas gifts. :-)

  2. That was very nice Nancy .. I think we all share an artistic heart because we love plants and gardens so much.
    Photography is becoming more and more of an addiction .. if only to learn from the bad pictures I take .. to find that gem that is thrilling to see and think “Did I take that ?” LOL
    I am so looking forward to taking pictures of beautiful leaves .. pumpkins .. all of the wonderful Autumn jewels : )

  3. Beautifully said, Nancy. You captured the feelings that most of us gardeners have this time of year.

    I am one who wishes it would be summer forever and Fall and Winter are my least favorite seasons for that reason.

  4. Nance; your poem is beautiful; it just flows so smoothly and encompasses so much of the way those of us who love to garden, feel. Thankyou for sharing it. I love it.

    deb

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

