Summer Memories

A hot August night...

I just stepped out on the balcony into a hot, August night. It’s the sort of evening when Summer wraps itself around you and forces you to acknowledge its perfection. She makes you forget the choking heat of day and bathes you in the smells and sounds of a flawless night. The air is heavy and sweet with moisture, tainted by the faint smell of wood smoke from a neighboring chimnea. Crickets chirp their endless August song, drowning out the steady drone of air conditioners and window fans.
It’s the sort of night we used to dream about as kids who lived by the sea–perfect for bonfires and wiener roasts, for corn boils and midnight swims, for camping out under the stars. Or for simply laying on your back in a field of newly mown hay, staring up into the vast canvas of night sky, pondering time and the Universe.
No bonfire here tonight, but somewhere, this perfect night will create everlasting memories.

I just stepped out on the balcony into a hot, August night. It’s the sort of evening when Summer wraps itself around you and forces you to acknowledge its perfection. She makes you forget the choking heat of day and bathes you in the smells and sounds of a flawless night. The air is heavy and sweet with moisture, tainted by the faint smell of wood smoke from a neighboring chimnea. Crickets chirp their endless August song, drowning out the steady drone of air conditioners and window fans.

It’s the sort of night we used to dream about as kids who lived by the sea — perfect for bonfires and wiener roasts, for corn boils and midnight swims, for camping out under the stars. Or for simply laying on your back in a field of newly mown hay, staring up into the vast canvas of night sky, pondering time and the Universe.

No bonfire here tonight, but somewhere, this perfect night will create everlasting memories.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

10 thoughts on “Summer Memories”

  1. That is a lovely post, Nancy.

    We are well on our way to Autumn here, with morning and evening fogs, and gentle, cool breezes.

    Enjoy your remaining summer!

    Boy, this summer has been a double-edged sword for me, Joyce — I LOATHE the hot, humid days and can’t wait to be rid of them. Very uncharacteristic for Nova Scotia! And yet, I don’t want to just wish these weeks away. I do love Autumm and everything about it, but I want to hang onto summer for just a teeny bit longer. And those lovely evenings, too. Now, if it would only COOL OFF! :-) Enjoy your summery days, too.

  2. Nancy .. you just stirred up some great memories of a summer night like this in Louisbourg, when I was a child .. I will never forget how it felt or smelled .. it was the most wonderful type ofmemory I will ever have .. the sea air and sky can never be topped by anything else .. thank you ! : )
    Joy
    PS .. that was a perfect picture .. visually and verbally ? literally ? .. printed word ? ;-)

    Thanks, Joyful! There’s really nothing to compare with summer by the sea, is there? And I’m sure those are memories you’ll carry with you forever. :) Thanks for your visit!

  3. Nancy, This is a beautiful post. And I fully can appreciate your sentiments and photo. Makes one a little drowsy. ;-)

    However, I must ask… was it only just a couple of months ago or so when we (especially you) were anxiously awaiting Spring? Hopefully, you will be able to enjoy more Summer and a lot of Fall before experiencing the long Winter you have there!

    It seems like it was only a couple of months ago we were awaiting spring — the weeks sure whiz by. I DETEST the heat, so fall and winter are always most welcome. But, I’d like to hang onto a little bit of summer yet. September is often our nicest summer month. :)

  4. I was right there with you listening to very moment and wishing I could have just such an evening by the sea. Happy August. You know Autumn is my favorite time of year. August for me has always meant the beginning of Autumn. Time to get out the cinnamon spices.

    I really like your lantern.

    Thanks, Anna. :) I love Autumn, too, and while I hate to wish the warmer days away, it’s been so unbeearably hot and humid here lately that I must say, I welcome the thought of fall. Mmmm…cinnamon! I hope your son is doing well.

  5. Hi Nancy,
    There’s nothing like a warm summer eveing. It seems it’s all going so fast. We should enjoy it while we can.
    Balisha :)

    It is going fast, Balisha — too fast. Though, as I said above, it’s been uncharacteristically HOT here in Nova Scotia the past couple of weeks…the last few days especially. If the air would clear and temperature go down just a few degrees, I’d be a much happier girl. :)

  6. Just tonight as my husband and I sat on our front porch, we said similar things about the summer night. crickets were chirping, the air is balmy and warm and a slight breeze rustled the pines that surround our house. You can’t help but remember being a kid trying to sleep on a hot night , window open and the sounds of summer putting you to sleep. It’s funny that your post was almost the exact conversation we had. I guess it’s just that time of year when we try to absorb the last bits of summer weather.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

