More Colour on the Balcony

rainbow_chard

Not quite what you’d call “a rainbow of colour” just yet, this Swiss chard has started to sprout after only 3-4 days.  It’s “Bright Lights” and should be pretty in its container, as well as yummy.  Even these little sprouts reflect the colours to come.  I planted some bright coloured celosia around the perimeter of the pot, so there should be colour all summer.  I have some lettuce that’s just starting to sprout, but it’s too small to photograph just yet.

w_can

Though it’s only plastic, I love the bright yellow watering can that Charlie brought home for me on the weekend…

hbird_feeder

And also this copper based hummingbird feeder.  It has a beautiful copper hanger with iridescent “marbles” at each end that really capture the light.  We’re still waiting for our first visitor, but something tells me it won’t be long as I had already seen them checking out the Calibrachoa blooms. :)

feeder_hook

6 thoughts on “More Colour on the Balcony

  1. I am so loving your colors! I want a hot pink watering can, and I don’t care if it is plastic or not.

    I have also been out looking for a good hummingbird feeder, most of them are kind of garish, this one is lovely. Hmmmm.

    Must go shopping.

    Jen

  2. I have some swiss chard seed that I’ve been wanting to plant, but I’ve run out of room! Maybe this fall…
    That’s a lovely hummingbird feeder; I hope it gets some visitors very soon.

  3. nancy, I can see the beginning of the rainbow chard…and once it takes off you will have a beautiful and edible planting! I feel like I haven’t visited in forever…but finally I am catching up after Spring Fling…gail

  4. So cool, Nancy! And hooray for Charlie and the yellow watering can! Not only is it cheerful, it’s so much lighter (no joke when it’s full of water).

  5. I’ve never tried Swiss Chard, but so many people grow and eat it that now I want to try it next year. The seedlings remind me of my Amaranthus Joseph’s Coat seedlings, as you can already see the colors it will be even when it’s tiny.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

