Read Those Labels

Photo from WikiI just saw a Pileated Woodpecker, and what a large bird!  It was amazing to watch and he was quite tame — he almost looks like a prehistoric crow!  They average about 15″ in length.  I guess if you’ve seen one before, they’re not that interesting, but it was new to me.  (Photo from Wiki)

The superintendent/interim groundskeeper just hacked back the rose bush which sits within reach of my balcony.  It needed a good pruning, for sure, but he’s taken it back to 2′ canes — it was at least 10′ high.  Ah well, perhaps it will do it good and it will come back.  It acted as a beautiful privacy screen for our balcony, too.  :(  The woodpecker sat on a tree stump about 20′ away from him and just watched before flying away.

I’m trying to plant containers and finding out that I should read the plant labels a little more carefully before I indulge myself.  I’ve ended up with some plants that are about 6″ high, which is great for containers, but not when the companion plants you’ve purchased grow to a foot!  Oh well, any excuse to buy more plants!  Pics when I’ve finished.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

11 thoughts on “Read Those Labels”

  1. I have four or five, and I get just as excited each time.
    Don’t they look prehistoric? We have at least one pair in the woods behind the house, by the evidence on the trees.

  2. How exciting Nancy! I’ve never seen one of these woodpeckers either. I would love to have one visit my yard! I hope the roses grow back quickly. I had to cut my shrub roses back severely one year (because of work on my house) and I was surprised how quickly they returned and are now even taller than they were before. Have fun shopping and planting your containers.

  3. What a great shot of that Woodpecker. There’s one that lives in my Pecan Tree that I’ve been trying to capture on camera for sometime. He’s a bit shy, lol. I’m sure that Rose will grow back quickly after it’s pruning. :) Have fun with your containers, can’t wait to see what you planted.

  4. When we lived at the lake in northern WI, seeing Pileated Woodpeckers was not uncommon. Haven’t seen one for about 15 years now and it was a thrill to see this photo.

  5. I hear woodpeckers, but rarely see them. I hope to have my camera with me next time one appears.

    I hope the rose grows back, and your plants in your pots do well, I wouldn’t pull them out now, just see what they do, and maybe stake the taller ones.

  6. I haven’t seen a pileated woodpecker in so long I forgot they even existed! I saw them on vacations when I was a kid – a VERY long time ago. They are a stunning bird. Thanks for sharing!

  7. We saw one in Alabama once. Our family was camping and it was pecking a tree right outside our tent window. Its loud pecking roused our curiosity instantly and our son (just out of third grade at the time) followed it across the campground! :-) Thanks for the memories!

  8. Oh, don’t worry about your plant heights, Nancy. Just go with the motif Steve Silk (Gardening Gone Wild) calls ‘Thrillers, Fillers and Spillers’. It makes for a more interesting container to have a variety of heights, I tell people at my talks. And yeah, it’s always fun to go get more plants.

  9. Thanks for all your comments, everyone! I haven’t seen our woodpecker since yesterday, so he must have just been passing through. :) Jodi, I’ll definitely plant what I’ve bought and won’t make any changes to anything I’ve already planted, but I will buy a few more things for “balance” — I’m not a stickler for perfection, that’s for sure. :) I’m yearning for real flowerbeds so I can play with the perennials!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

