A Tisket, A Tasket, A Pink & Yellow Basket

basketA tisket, a tasket, a pink and yellow basket… While pink and yellow is not a combination I would typically think of when it comes to a flower basket or container, this one caught my eye yesterday and I bought it for my Mom to hang by her back door…a belated Mother’s Day gift.

It consists of pink petunias…

petuniaaccented by a softer pink verbena that trails over the sides…

verbena_pinkand what I believe is Golden Goddess (Bidens ferrulifolia) which are very showy and relatively compact.  I think it will make for a bright spot of summer colour.

golden_goddess

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

15 thoughts on “A Tisket, A Tasket, A Pink & Yellow Basket”

  1. For some reason I like the yellow and pink flower combination. Don’t know why. I think it’s very pretty. And that grandson sure is growing up before our very eyes!
    Brenda

    The combination really jumped out at me, too. :) And yes, little Nolan is growing up so fast — I spoke with him on the phone last night and every time I hear that little voice, I turn to jelly. He’ll be 3 in Aug, if you can believe that.

  2. I’ve been surprised, too, how yellow actually looks good with so many other colors. The “Golden Goddess” is a plant I’ve never tried before; such delicate blossoms–the perfect yellow accent!

    It’s a sweet little plant, native to some areas. It’s compact and fills in nicely without getting all gangly, if you know what I mean. :)

  3. Now this just makes me smile. Yellow and pink together are the happiest of colors, yes?

    It really did catch my eye, though the combination is not necessarily one I would “plan” for my garden. :) It’s sure bright and cheery. And that’s the whole point, isn’t it.

  4. Oh yes…forgot to say I love the fresh spring of your banner…the yellow and pink basket features well there, too.

    Thanks, Shauna — I’m very glad you like it. :)

  5. There is something about this combination that says, “feminine and girly.” I like the pink and yellow together though I usually favor bold colors. Very uplifting.
    Shirley

    I’m usually a bold and bright gal, too, Shirley. Sometimes it pays to experiment, I guess. :-)

  6. Wow, those colors look gorgeous together. I love that shade of pink with the bright yellow.

    Hi Kristi! Thanks for your visit. :) I do like the combination, too…very cheery.

  7. I’m sure your mom loved it, Nancy. I do.
    Donna

    Thanks, Donna! Mom was tickled pink and yellow with her basket. :) The poor woman has been suffering horribly with a dental abscess caused by some work she had done to a bridge, and just as things in that dept are settling down, I think this was a nice little pick-me-up. :)

  8. Oh yes, I love it and the girlier the better. Bidens is a great plant blooming it’s fool head off all summer.

    Bidens is a new plant to me, believe it or not. It has been sooo exciting learning about new plants and especially, new *containter* plants through Blotanical. There was a time when hanging baskets at my house usually consisted of petunias, trailing lobelia, perhaps some allysum…that sort of thing. Pretty enough, but dead boring now that I’ve seen what works! Can’t wait to put some things together this year…which I plan to write about later today. It’s a great day for gardening on the balcony. :)

  9. That is nice colorful color combination that should look brighten your Mom’s day everytime she steps outside. :)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

