The Romance of Daffodils

Lifeless trees...On a wooded, secondary road that we drive to get to my parents’ home, there’s the cleared remains of what used to be a house lot.  Many years ago, a man that I only ever knew as ‘Old Man Webber’ used to live in a small house of weathered shingles and very little style, in the middle of this now-deserted parcel of land.  There’s no sign of this building now, though I suppose if one did a proper search, you might find signs of a foundation or other utensils that would indicate that someone once lived there.

Perhaps because it is located on such a beautiful but desolate stretch of road, I believe I always had a somewhat romantic notion of who lived there and of the life they led.  Or perhaps that can be chalked up to an over-active imagination.

More bare trees...All the trees on the property have long since died and are hollow and rotting — perfect for nesting birds and other small critters.  For whatever reason, I love old, gnarled, arthritic-looking trees.  I love how their knobby fingers reach skyward as if begging for another chance, one more season.

Just over a small rise (that’s Charlie above, for perspective…he’s 6’2″) is the spot where I thought I would find some meaning, some answers, some sense of permanence about the property.  Imagine my surprise when this fenced grave revealed a head stone marked with a completely different family name.

Fenced in...

Stone...Clearly, someone has cared enough over the years to plant these lovely daffodils.  The dates on the stone mark births in the mid-1800’s and deaths in the early 1910’s and 1920’s.  I knew there were daffodils here as you can see them from the road, and for many years, I had always planned to take a photo of “Old Man Webber’s grave”.  Clearly, the joke’s on me.  The family name (Sanford) is a common one in our area, so I hope to do a little digging and see if I can find  more history on this property, and how “Old Man Webber” came to live there.

Spring!But isn’t this a lovely clump of daffs?

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

6 thoughts on “The Romance of Daffodils”

  1. nancy, There is something romantic about old home sites…I love exploring them and finding evidence of the life folks once had…Interesting about the grave! gail

  2. I have this thing……for looking at old headstones in old cemetaries. They are so very interesting and full of history. What a interesting find you have made, I would love to hear more about who was there before.

    Jen

  3. That’s such a nice clump of daffodils Nancy, I bet they’ve been there for years. It also makes you think about the person who lovingly planted them for someone special. Keep us posted on what you find out. I think it’s an interesting story.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

