Trivia From The Garden – Answers

Thanks to all who played along. :)  The answers are below, as taken from information gathered online.

1.  Which of the following belong to the rose family?

[a] plums
[b] cherries
[c] almonds
[d] all of the above  *

2.  The stems of which of the following flowers were used to fill lifejackets before the advent of modern materials?

[b] sunflower  *

3.  80% of the world’s rose species come from:

[c] Asia  *

4.  The eggplant is a member of the:

[a] potato family  *

5.  The most widely grown plant in the world is:

[b] wheat  *

6.  A dragonfly has a lifespan of:

[b] 24 hours  *

The correct answer for the dragonfly question should be:  between six months and several years.  Everyone gets a freebie! :)

7.  Tulips originated in:

[a] Turkey  *

8.  Two-thirds of the world’s eggplant is grown in:

[d] New Jersey  *

9.  After planting coffee seed, it takes aprox. _____  years to yield consumable fruit.

[c] 5  *

10.  Babe Ruth wore a __________ leaf under his cap to keep cool. He changed it every two innings.

[b] cabbage  *

9 thoughts on “Trivia From The Garden – Answers

  1. Great quiz, Nancy! It was fun to see the answers, and sure enough, I didn’t do quite as well as I thought I would! (Eggplant in New Jersey?! Whoa!)

    Who’d of thunk it? :-)

  2. Great quiz Nancy!

    Though I’m not sure your dragonfly answer is correct. The nymph form stays up to 2 years in rivers and streams (depending on the type of climate) before emerging as an adult. Trust me – I was a freshwater biologist many moons ago!

    You could very well be correct, VP — I simply took the information as I found it online. It can, indeed, be very inaccurate sometimes.

    Note: The answer of 24 hours is, indeed, incorrect! I did a little more research and it appears that dragonflies have a life span of anywhere from about six months to several years. Most of the dragonfly life span is spent in the water as a nymph. During this period, which can last up to a couple of years, it sheds its skin many times. Finally it crawls onto land to break out of its skin as a full fledged dragonfly. Thanks for pointing out this glaring mistake, VP!

  3. What fun! I wouldn’t have had any correct answers, except the freebie. :o)

    Thank you for visiting my place today and leaving the lovely note on my doorstep. Yes, I do know Thoughts Become Things. I do need a reminder from time to time though… :o)

    Have a great day!

    Carolynn

  4. Thanks for the answers–I love trivia quizzes. I knew I didn’t do well–who would have thought New Jersey produces so much eggplant.

  5. Hi Nancy – thanks for putting on the update! I’m wondering whether your internet source was getting mixed up with mayflies – they have just 24 hours as an adult after they emerge from the water to find a mate before they die.

    I’ll stop being a freshwater biology geek now and return to my garden. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

