Ding-Ding-Ding

dingThe deafening peal of the metal fire alarms sliced through the quiet order of the morning like a hatchet through the skull.  Ooops, an electrician accidentally hit a wrong wire. Cats scattered, necks stretched, pupils dilated, fur raised, looking for a safe place to escape the din and finding none.

The door tries to open against the steely crunch of the safety latch.  An impatient sigh escapes on the other side of the door.  Alarm still ding-ding-dinging.  The car is “sputtering”, protesting against the Monday morning, no doubt.  New spark plugs?  New spark plug wires?  Charlie abandons his drive to work in favour of the nearest mechanic.  Alarm still hacking through skull with that dull hatchet.

Fire alarm.  With danger real or imagined, I find kitty carriers and pretend to know what I’d grab if the danger were real.  I’m reminded to do another backup of photos onto DVD this evening.  Ding-ding-ding.

Meanwhile, in the hallways, gaggles of older women gather in various stages of dress.  Smartly coordinated pants suit.  Fuzzy bathrobes with matching slippers.  Uncombed hair.  Half-eaten toast.  Sympathetic crooning for a yapping poodle.  Ding-ding-ding.  It’s okay, the electrician accidentally hit a wrong wire.

It occurs to me that I’m one of the youngest people in the building.  That bothers me.  Almost as much as the incessant ding-ding-ding.

Eventually, electrician sorts out the wiring and disables the alarm.  Ears still ding-ding-dinging.  Women drift apart and float on fuzzy slippers to their respective apartments, suddenly aware of their states of undress, clutching collars to throats.

I believe it’s going to be one of those days.

6 thoughts on “Ding-Ding-Ding

  1. Oh Nancy !! .. I pictured it all in my mind’s eye as I read your description .. and that deafening sound that would drive me right up the walls along with Sophie and Emma .. your poor little furries must have hated it so much too.
    What a way to start the day and week .. it can only get better , right ?
    That thought struck me .. knowing you are the youngest couple in the complex .. I think we are both feeling that almost eerie penny drop in our time allotment container on earth ? LOL .. Me with wondering about changing my blog name (fresh start) and you with such a rough start to the day ; )

    And this isn’t a seniors building! :) Out of 24 apts, I suppose there are 3 or 4 who have couples younger than we are. It’s never too late for a fresh, invigorating start, Joy. You have to believe that, right? But you’re right — I think we all reach a stage in our lives where time is more the essence…like, if there are things you want to do with your life, you’d better get at it. :-) Now, what am I waiting for?!

  2. Oh boy! Not a great start to the day! I hope the rest of it was better.
    We had sunshine, but the cold wind persisted. I hope your weather has improved.

    It could always be worse, I’m sure — such as if the alarm had been for real! I grumble too much! :)

  3. Yikes! I hope it improved!

    Did you get all that snow?

    No Ceri, it pretty much passed us by and landed in Moncton, NB. They got a foot…and they are welcome to keep it there. Hee!

  4. Now that’s a rough way to start a day.
    However, that it wasn’t truly an emergency is something for which to be truly thankful!!! And that you (as well as everyone else) are okay!
    I hope the rest of the day went much more smoothly! :-)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

