Tulips Gone Wild

tulips1Charlie, being the sweetheart that he is, brought me home this wonderful bouquet of tulips last evening.  Tulips are one of my favourite spring flowers, and I hadn’t had a bouquet of cut tulips for a long time.

While we had supper, I placed the flowers, still in their plastic, protective wrapping, in a large tin juice can that had been prepared for recycling, until I had a chance to arrange them to my liking in a proper vase.  I placed them in a spare bedroom where it was much cooler.  After supper, we got interested in American Idol and I honestly just forgot about the beautiful blooms, until this morning.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/powi/When I retrieved them to put them in a vase of fresh water, they had changed colour!  Gone wild!  I stood in stunned silence for a moment or two; they’re still very pretty, but nobody has been able to explain the change of colour.  My high school chemistry fails me, but I wonder if it was some sort of reation with the tin in the can, or with remnants of juice that might have been left in the can?

It’s a mystery to me, although I think the new colour is just as pretty as the yellow!  Has anyone else ever had something similar happen?

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

16 thoughts on “Tulips Gone Wild”

  1. Oh my! That’s a first for me, too. Now they look like Easter eggs! You should try an experiment: Put more yellow tulips in a glass vase with some grape juice (or whatever you all were drinking) and see what happens. Wow!

    I thought that, too — with that robin egg blue. Apple juice? The acid, perhaps? ;)

  2. Those color changing tulips are a new one on me Nancy! This isn’t an April Fool’s Day joke on us is it? lol Or you? ;)

    Who, me? The significance of the day completely escaped me. :)

  3. Nancy – I’m off to find a supplier for those Cyan tulips – thanks for the April fools giggle!
    Barbarapc

    April Fools? Today? No way! Hee!

  4. Nancy! I totally forgot about April Fools ~ I was seriously wondering what on earth could cause the color change! Silly me. I do love purple & yellow together ~ your Charlie is a great guy to be so thoughtful.

  5. I’ve been searching on the internet to find out why…..You sure had me going. I know that tulips grow taller in a vase.

    Oh, Balisha, I’m sorry. :) Well, it’s nice to know I was able to fool someone. You’re a good sport!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

