Sunrise Tea

morning_tea2

Like hundreds of others in our area, I’ve been down and out with a flu virus…and I do mean down and out.  I didn’t get out of bed for two days, and that’s not like me at all.  And just as I’m starting to feel somewhat human again, Charlie believes he’s getting it.  Ugh.

This morning, after the benefit of two days’ rest, I woke early and could sleep no more, so Toby (the cat) and I shared a quiet time together, just after sunrise.  A cup of tea seemed safe, finally, after two days of sipping water and I must say, it was one of the sweetest cups of tea I’ve ever enjoyed.

You know that warm feeling of relief when you realize that you’re not going to die after all…that you have, indeed, lived to see another day?  That, combined with a beautiful morning breeze and bright sun, the air full of the excited chatter of breakfasting birds, made for a very peaceful morning tea.  We’ve been granted two days in a row of lovely spring-like weather — the sun was shining, birds singing, temperatures in the 50+F range.  People were actually out picking up garbage this afternoon…winter litter off the lawn…and seemed quite happy to do so.

My older daughter turns 30 years old tomorrow.  Thirty!  I can hardly believe it.  So we managed to have a meal together tonight, though Mom wasn’t up to cooking her usual birthday fare.  We managed a vegetarian lasagna, some garlic bread, and a small birthday cake.  It matters not what you eat, but that you eat it together, I think. :)  Happy birthday, my sweet girl.

I have a new bloom on my orchid to photograph tomorrow and I’ve missed visiting all your blogs.  Back to our regularly scheduled programming tomorrow, I hope.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

13 thoughts on “Sunrise Tea”

  1. Things always seem so much sweeter when it’s been taken away for a while. Glad to hear that you’re feeling better. ‘Tis the season, isn’t it?

    I agree that it’s not what you eat, but the time you spend together that really matters.

  2. I’m so glad you’re feeling better. My son and daughter had the flu and were sick for two weeks. I couldn’t believe that I didn’t catch it, I was so very thankful!

    Happy birthday to your daughter and to her mom who gave her life!

  3. Awwww Nancy, I’ve missed you! Glad you’re feeling better. I think that sounds like a lovely birthday celebration. (Veggie lasagna, mmmm!) Hope Charlie doesn’t have such a hard time and that you feel 100% very soon. And yes, I know better than most how it feels to suddenly be pain-free after a debilitating bout. It’s as though you were suddenly experiencing the living definition of health, as in “Oh, yes, this IS what it means to be alive!” A strange but wonderful feeling. Enjoy it, and welcome back!!!

  4. I’m glad you are feeling a bit better Nancy. You take it easy & we’ll look forward to regular programing starting tomorrow. :)

  5. Nancy ! I’m so sorry you have been so ill !
    You have described it perfectly and that simple photograph of the tea is perfect .. Happy birthday to your daughter .. number one son turned 29 , so I feel your “pain” .. ouch we are getting up there girl .. which means you have to look after yourself much better too !
    take care .. Hope Charlie isn’t really getting the bug too ! : )

  6. Nancy, I’m so glad you’re beginning to feel better. Hopefully Charlie’s case isn’t so bad. Happy Birthday to your daughter! Our son just turned 30, and our daughter turned 32 last September. I don’t know how that happened!

  7. Hi Nancy,
    Glad to hear that you are feeling better. A cup of tea is the thing that I want after the flu. It tastes as good as those ice chips and jello, when you’re in the hospital.
    Glad you’re back.

  8. Nancy:
    I am in a house filled with illness…. deep rooted cough, chills, loss of appetite…. and have taken to wearing a clove of garlic around my neck when I go to bed! Not for the vampires, but to try and ward off becoming the fifth victim in as many days. Glad to hear you are feeling better, and I am sure your daughter was thrilled to be with you to help celebrate her birthday, reduced menu though it may have been. Take it easy, and don’t over do it for a week or so! Wouldn’t want a relapse!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

