How Does Your Garden Grow?

zelfgemaakte foto van radijs
Image via Wikipedia

According to The Farmer’s Almanac, the following vegetables are the easiest to grow.  I’m not entirely convinced about the beans, as they depend heavily on soil temperature and type around here.  What say you?

—–

“Growing beans is a snap—especially the bush varieties, which require no thinning or staking. The plant utilizes nitrogen from the air to produce some of its own fertilizer. See more about beans.

Radishes need no fertilizer other than what is added at planting time. When seedlings emerge, thin them to 2 inches apart. See more about radishes.

Beets are another easy-care root crop. Both greens and roots are loaded with nutrients. Thin young beets to allow room for the roots to develop. Wondering how to use beets? See our recipes with beets.

If you love tomatoes, try the cherry varieties. They are much less susceptible to diseases. ‘Sweet 100’, ‘Sun Gold’, and other varieties can be picked from the plant and popped right into your mouth! Most ripen before the first frost.

Zucchini plants are awesomely productive. By mid-July, your neighbors will be locking their porch doors so that you can’t “give away” excess gourds. Fortunately, zucchini is versatile in the kitchen; serve it raw, steamed, boiled, fried, and baked in casseroles.

Here’s an easy Zucchini Bread recipe that makes a great breakfast or quick snack.”

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

3 thoughts on “How Does Your Garden Grow?”

  1. Good morning Nancy, I’ve found beans very easy to grow in our zone 5 climate. I prefer bush beans – they’re very prolific and don’t take up as much space as the vining types. Since bush varieties are so productive, I save trellis space for other vining veggies. I find as long as I wait to plant them until the soil warms up, they’re foolproof, with plenty of time left in the season to be very productive.

    Radishes, beets, and tomatoes are easy too, as long as they’re planted at the right time. Zucchini – I’m not fond of it so I haven’t grown it. It’s a staple of most veggie gardens around here. And talk about bumper crops – probably few other veggies can compete with zucchini for productivity. About the only way I love zucchini is in zucchini bread, but there’s only so much of it one person can eat!

    Hi Linda! Beans grow wonderfully here, but because of our (usually) cold and very wet springs, sometimes it is a challenge to know *when* to plant them. They do need warm ground, as do peas, and I’ve had to replant several times. Zucchini has become one of my favourite salad ingredients — I actually prefer it now to cucumber! Only when they’re small, of course. I’m not a bit fan of it cooked. Thanks for your input.

  2. I say beans are easy peasy! Or should that be easy beansy? I grew pole beans for the first time last year and I have to say I prefer the bush varieties. They seemed to produce more and better beans. I like the slim French filet type best.

    And beets, oh the beets! LOVE LOVE LOVE my beets! Only pickled however. I want to grow more of them this year than I have in the past. We always run out of them before we’re ready.

    Ah, a girl after my own heart. :) Pickled beets are among my favourite preserves. But I also love them as a vegetable, with a touch of butter and pepper/salt. Yum!

    Yes, I would agree with the list you’ve provided. We don’t grow radishes anymore since I don’t like them at all and Romie doesn’t like them all that well either. But they ARE easy.

    I like radish well enough, but I’m not sure I’d use valuable/limited space to plant them. :)

    And well…zucchini…hard to beat that one for production!

  3. I’m not sure about their list being a good universal one!

    Tomatoes are easy here; beets are not. Beans are easy, at least in most years.

    Aren’t radishes easy everywhere, but who wants to eat lots of radishes?

    I think only for you northern gardeners are zucchini wildly productive. Here in the Southeastern U.S., the squash vine borers take care of zucchini and yellow squash quite handily and quickly, thank you very much (ha!) …. we’re left trying to protect our squash vines with barriers (aluminum foil, plastic wrap, and mulch), grow resistant squash species (eg. C. moschata, C. maxima, etc), or inject Bt into the vines (that’s if we’re trying not to resort to chemical protection).

    Lisa

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

