Beautiful (New) Perennials for 2009

http://www.bhg.com/gardening/flowers/perennials/(Heuchera ‘Plum Royale’)

Now I ask you, is this not gorgeous?!  If I had the garden space, this would surely be one of the perennials I’d be seeking out this season.  The following photos and most of the text about each of these new plants were taken from Better Homes & Gardens site — there were more, all just as beautiful, but these few really caught my eye!

Royale Coralbells

Grow it for: Its brilliantly colored, deer-resistant foliage
Grow it with: Golden- or chartreuse-leaf plants such as Blue and Gold spiderwort
Name: Heuchera ‘Plum Royale’
Growing Conditions: Full sun or part shade and moist, well-drained soil
Size: To 1 foot tall and 18 inches wide
Zones: 4-9

http://www.bhg.com/gardening/flowers/perennials/(Euphorbia ‘Glacier Blue’)

Glacier Blue Spurge

Grow it for
: It’s drought resistant and deer won’t eat it.
Grow it with: Purple-leafed coral bells for a stunning foliage contrast
Name: Euphorbia ‘Glacier Blue’
Growing Conditions: Full sun and well-drained soil
Size: To 15 inches tall and wide
Zones: 7-9

http://www.bhg.com/gardening/flowers/perennials/

(Echinacea ‘Hot Papaya’) — Spectacular colour!

Hot Papaya Coneflower

You’ve probably never seen a coneflower like this! Hot Papaya offers fantastically colored orange-and-red blooms that have a spicy fragrance over a long period. Like most coneflowers, it’s heat and drought tolerant.

Grow it for: Its colorful, eye-catching blooms
Grow it with: Other coneflowers or black-eyed Susans
Name: Echinacea ‘Hot Papaya’
Growing Conditions: Full sun and well-drained soil
Size: To 3 feet tall and wide
Zones: 4-9

http://www.bhg.com/gardening/flowers/perennials/(Echinacea ‘Tomato Soup’) — Brilliant!  Can you imagine a whole bed of these?!

Tomato Soup Coneflower

Grow it for: It’s a wonderful cut flower
Grow it with: Yellow or orange coneflowers or black-eyed Susan
Name: Echinacea ‘Tomato Soup’
Growing Conditions: Full sun and well-drained soil
Size: To 2 1/2 feet tall and 2 feet wide
Zones: 4-9

http://www.bhg.com/gardening/flowers/perennials/(Hemerocallis ‘Pumpkin Festival’) — perhaps it was the name that attracted me to this new lily…

Pumpkin Festival Daylily

Enjoy big, 5-inch-wide fragrant flowers for weeks with this new daylily. The pumpkin-orange flowers are accented with a purple-red eye zone and ruffled petal edges.

Grow it for: It’s a reliable rebloomer with fragrant flowers
Grow it with: Shasta daisy and zinnia
Name: Hemerocallis ‘Pumpkin Festival’
Growing Conditions: Full sun and well-drained soil
Size: To 20 inches tall and 2 feet wide
Zones: 3-9

These are only 5 of the 31 new perennials BHG names on their site, but they’re the ones that screamed loudest to me.  Has anyone grown any of them…or are they truly *new* for this season?

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

22 thoughts on “Beautiful (New) Perennials for 2009”

  1. Wow! I must find the Tomato Soup Coneflowers – stunning! Well, they’re all gorgeous but that RED calls my NAME!

    Mine as well — if and when I ever have my own garden again, I’m going to fill it with colour! I love red, anyway. :)

  2. OOOhhhh, so tempting, Nancy! You are being an enabler. :-) I had sworn off any more fancy echinaceas, but those two are the most marvelous color! I must be strong! The heuchera is just stunning, as is that photo. I wonder if the color has been adjusted?
    Frances
    Your header photo is unbelievable. Perfect for Easter and spring.

    Thanks, Frances — I thought the header photo was rather spring-like. As for being an enabler…hey, if I can’t have them, then someone else MUST! :-) Yes, that heuchera is stunning and I don’t believe the colour has been manipulated, as I looked it up on a couple of other sites, too. (http://tinyurl.com/bcjy7g, for example). The Lime Rickey is beautiful too — they’d be pretty together.

  3. Wow, I had seen all kinds of new and fantastic echinaceas, but the Hot Papayas really takes it to a new dimension! A note of warning for those of you with hot summers: heucheras are beautiful but a lot of them will die when it heats up. Good varieties to try are the ones with H. villosa chlorophyll in them, such as ‘Caramel’ and other Thierry Delabroye types, according to Plant Delights. For those of you in cooler climates: boy are you lucky. There are so many beautiful varieties out, and the deep purple ones are some of the best.

    They should do well here in Nova Scotia, but I’ve never grown them myself. We are fairly temperate here. :)

  4. I just saw a similar heuchera on my Park Seed e-newsletter called Midnight Rose. Beautiful, except I’m a sucker for the vibrant red Tomato Soup Coneflower. It’s calling to me. I must have it!

    I. Love. Colour. Especially after our long, colourless winters. Tomato Soup never looked so good!

  5. nancy, You’ve picked out a few beauties for us! Very tempting! gail

    There were many beauties on the BH&G site, but these really hollered to me…yoo-hoo! Hee.

  6. Beautiful new perennials, I love some of the names they come up with. ;) I have a Heuchera ‘Plum Pudding’ in my garden that I adore, ‘Plum Royale’ looks like it would a great one to add too.

    Perhaps they are similar in colour?

  7. Oh WOW! That Echinacea ‘Hot Papaya’ is knockdown gorgeous (so is the ‘Tomato Soup’)! WOW! Now I want them too!

    Well, if you have the space for them, you should have them! :) I hope someone plants them so we can see if they are as spectacular as they look!

  8. Yes to the euphorbia – I had 3 Silver Swan ones, they were utterly beautiful, but unfortunately their site didn’t suit them and they aren’t happy, and I think they’re too poorly to move now. But I will get more!

    The euphorbia is lovely, and it would be such a nice companion to so many colours. :)

  9. Hi Nancy .. wow ! there are some gorgeous plants coming out aren’t there ? .. This is the type of contrast I go for between my hosta, heuchera, ferns, heucherella .. well i think you remember my front garden .. it was perfect for a while before the slugs started in ? LOL
    But this is what catches the eye .. stunning contrast in colour and texture .. right up my ally : )

  10. Great picks Nancy! Being in the shade here, the heuchera really caught my eye. I’ll be on the lookout for Plum Royale.

    I’ve collected quite a few different heucheras and they do fantastic in our shady zone 5 garden. I haven’t found one yet that doesn’t thrive. I love them all, including the villosas. Autumn Bride is an older villosa, and it’s one of my favorites.

  11. Oh dear temptress … a Heuchera fanatic, you’d love ‘Plum Royale’, Nancy. A coneflower fanatic, you’ve tempted me …‘Hot Papaya’ really caught my eye. A daylily fanatic … ‘Pumpkin Festival’ would have a wonderful home in my garden (if I can find room :) Today was a glorious 72 when we left our snowless home … now 30s here at the lake in snowbunny heaven.

  12. Good Morning Nancy, yes ‘Plum Royal’ certainly is a beauty, such an amazing color. I will try to get the Echinacea ‘hot papaya’ seeds, it is gorgeous flower. do you know who’s got them?

    Take Care

    Tyra

  13. I always enjoy seeing their list of “hot” new perennials. The heuchera is my favorite–they always have such delectable-sounding names:)

  14. Those are gorgeous. I think I’ve seen the first one but none of the rest. Oh … those flowers makes me want to go to the nursery. Tomorrow maybe ..

  15. Your color-quotient will really rise this summer if you’re adding these plants! They’re just beautiful. I thought, too, that the heuchera would look great with the bright green annual sweet potato vine. Very inspiring post.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

