GB Muse Day – 01 March 09

© Nancy J. Bond

“March bustles in on windy feet
And sweeps my doorstep and my street.
She washes and cleans with pounding rains,
Scrubbing the earth of winter stains.
She shakes the grime from carpet green
Till naught but fresh new blades are seen.
Then, house in order, all neat as a pin,
She ushers gentle springtime in.”

–   Susan Reiner, Spring Cleaning

These Kalanchoe blossoms are about the only things in bloom at my place on this first of March.  Like the winter, they too are slowly fading away, their bright hues being replaced by much softer, Eastery pastels. :)

Garden Bloggers Muse Day is hosted on the first of each month by Carolyn Gail – join in!

13 thoughts on “GB Muse Day – 01 March 09

  1. Happy March, Nancy! (Lion or Lamb ~ frigid but sunny)

    Happy March to you too, Joey — it’s cool but calm here today. No sun, but no “weather” either.

  2. Nancy, Susan Reiner’s poem so beautifully describes March in Middle Tennessee. We’ve had the winds and pounding rains…now please, usher gentle springtime in! I hope you are having a sweet Sunday~~gail

  3. Nancy, that poem is *perfect* for today! I spent a good nine hours yesterday in the garden, pruning, trimming, shaping, etc. And today is cold and wintry and raining cats and dogs–and it’s going to be like that for the next four days! Your poem is a good reminder! Thanks!

  4. It’s very easy to visualize March’s activities (all very welcome!). I’ve been wondering and wondering about your header photo. I’d wondered what type of flower collection you’d found. Now that I know, I’m amazed that it’s a kalanchoe. Garden Bloggers’ Muse Day is one of my favorite reasons to visit everyone. :-) Thank you for this post.

  5. This poem describes March perfectly! I have much spring cleaning to do, inside and out, but I am ready for a “gentle springtime.”

  6. A wonderful poem for the first day of March. We’re having a snow after several days of rain — great for soaking into otherwise dry soil.

  7. I like your muse and your blooms. I don’t have a single thing in bloom but we do have SNOW!!! We’re just about done with the storm. We sent it off to the Atlantic to get good and fat before it heads your way. Sorry.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

