Flurry At The Feeder

car_snowBecause this is the sort of day it is, there’s been a flurry of activity at the feeder.  I tried to get some decent photos through the (very grimy) patio doors, with varied success.  The birds are always an entertaining lot.

silent_screamThis female Redpoll seems to be telling me to mind my business — doesn’t she look grumpy?

redpoll_snowThis little gal seems quite content to wait for her turn at the feeder.

goldfinch_snow1One thing that is evident — and it’s a sure sign of Sping’s approach — is that all the male birds are starting to intensify in colour.  This goldfinch has gone from a dull olive yellow to much brighter garb.  It won’t be long before they are all sporting their lemon yellow jackets.

redpoll_incomingThe same for the male redpolls who’ve gone from a rosy vest to brighter red.  Incoming!

feeder_snow

I’m sure a day like this is exactly what Loire Hartwould meant by “bird-chirping weather”.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

13 thoughts on “Flurry At The Feeder”

  1. Great shots, Nancy. The goldfinches and house finches are about to eat me out of house and home! There are so many of them and only one of me!

  2. Nancy, it’s been the same here, with snow falling for most of the day.
    We’ve had an amazing amount of birds, especially goldfinches. I counted at least 3 dozen at one point.
    Your redpolls are a treat to see.
    I’m glad school is out so that I didn’t have to drive in this weather.
    Might as well hibernate for a while longer :)

  3. Hi Nancy, what a joy to see your bird shots. Thank you for keeping seed out for them. It must be hard to keep the feeder filled with snow on the ground (and in the air!) like that. Seeing the males brighten up is the surest sign of spring I know. No mistaken weather forecast or groundhog shadow can alter that colorful gent’s garb. Hooray!
    Frances

  4. What beautiful pics of the birds feeding in the falling snow….
    I love the last pic….!! I love watching birds feed, especially in the winter time….Thanks for sharing!

    K

  5. Nancy, You said the snow was forecast and there it is! The birds look happy and I know they make you smile and keep you entertained~~ I am going to pay attention and see if the ‘boys’ are prettying up for the girls here! gail

  6. What a great series of photos, and your weather certainly looks wintry (compared to ours).

    I’m starting to hear the early songs of cardinals and robins, and I heard a mockingbirds this morning for the first time in a long while.

  7. What a great series of photos, and your weather certainly looks wintry (compared to ours).

    I’m starting to hear the early songs of cardinals and robins, and I heard a mockingbird this morning for the first time in a long while.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

