This Weather Is For The Birds!

feb3_snowNova Scotia is getting dumped on — again — by a real nor’easter which is supposed to deliver a foot of snow and some high winds tonight.  The only ones who seem happy about it are the birds!

feb3_male_redpollA male redpoll, who was nice enough to pose…

feb3_chickadeeOur favorite, the chickadee…

The cat also seems delighted by the dozens of birds who are chattering and tussling for the best perch on the feeder.  The photo below strikes me funny, even though the quality is poor from shooting through the screen — that Evening Grosbeak looks like she’s laughing at him!  What would we do without the birds. :-)

feb3_toby_birds

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

18 thoughts on “This Weather Is For The Birds!”

  1. Darn it! You get snow and we get none. I think I saw a flake last night but it melted before it hit the ground.

    Maybe I wouldn’t want a foot of it. I love your birdies and kitty investigating the activity.

  2. The Red Polls are so pretty with the spot of color on their heads. I have never saw one before. Your cat is probably licking its chops watching the birds. Chickadees are just so cute and very quick. Hope you don’t get too much snow. Stay warm and safe,
    Lona

  3. I love redpolls, too!

    We are getting just the edge of the storm, here along the coast. It started snowing about 2:30 this afternoon. It is not supposed to be over a couple of inches, though.

  4. I couldn’t agree with you more, Nancy! More snow last night here, and the wind is howling and blowing snow across the driveway faster than I can shovel it. It’s best to stay inside and be entertained by the birds. Love that last picture–our Toby has a similar perch, but I think the grosbeak is indeed laughing at your Toby:)

  5. I ventured out around noon to bring the horse and idiotdonkey in, Nancy, and threw a scoop of seed out on the snow for the snowbuntings, who obliged me by coming down off the barn, one at a time, to pick at the seed and peep and bob around. I stood watching them for a few minutes til the wind and snow drove me in, but tomorrow I think I’ll bundle up, take my camera outside, and sit in the snow and try to get some good shots. Your kitty looks like some of ours did, watching bird television this morning. They chatter while they watch. It’s hilarious.

  6. Nancy- Do make sure to stay inside where it is warm and safe. Its been a roller coaster with weather. We’re expecting -15 tomorrow but freezing rain or snow by the weekend! Not sure if the birds are all that fond of it either!

  7. Good question! They’re so slightly built and yet, THEY are built to endure. A wonder. I cannot ever tire of watching the birds outdoors! :-) Mygoodness you’re having quite a snowfall!!

  8. Appears the old groundhog was right, Nancy … sorry about that! I don’t believe I’ve ever seen a male redpoll … quite handsome … but I adore chickadees.

  9. Hi Nancy.
    Love your blog. And we’ve had enough snow here in southern New England as well. But the juncos, goldfinches, chickadees, Carolina wrens, titmice, downy and hairy and red-bellied woodpeckers too just keep coming down in our yard like the snow. This helps makes it a little more palatable. Keeps our 6 Siamese amused very nicely. Like KTV – Kitty TV! Great post.

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

