GB Muse Day – Feb 2009

b_bath

“In winter’s cold and sparkling snow,
The garden in my mind does grow.
I look outside to blinding white,
And see my tulips blooming bright.
And over there a sweet carnation,
Softly scents my imagination.

On this cold and freezing day,
The Russian sage does gently sway,
And miniature roses perfume the air,
I can see them blooming there.
Though days are short, my vision’s clear.
And through the snow, the buds appear.

In my mind, clematis climbs,
And morning glories do entwine.
Woodland phlox and scarlet pinks,
Replace the frost, if I just blink.
My inner eye sees past the snow.
And in my mind, my garden grows.”
–   Cheryl Magic-Lady, Winter Garden

Garden Bloggers’ Muse Day is hosted by Carolyn Gail — join in!

12 thoughts on “GB Muse Day – Feb 2009

  1. I just love this poem. Yes, the only place I have garden right now is in my mind. Still lots of snow on the ground.

  2. Well, mine don’t look like that. Funny, what all the birdbaths would look like if we had one shown from every region. It is nice and warm here and I’m wearing shorts!
    Brenda

  3. I’m still waiting for the snow. We might get a few flakes or ice tomorrow night. We’ve had flurries but no real snow. If we don’t get it in the new month and a half–we aren’t getting any. The weeds and bugs are going to be bad cause of the mild weather.

    I weeded all day yesterday so my garden is still growing. Love the birdbath and your winter poem.

  4. It’s a lovely poem, Nancy, but I can’t see anything in my garden except snow at the moment! I came over here to post my First Snowfall (yeah, I know, it’s February, but we’ve just had six inches in London), but I couldn’t find the link. Are you still running it?
    Best wishes, Victoria

  5. Hi Nancy, what a beautiful birdbath and I loved this poem too. It speaks to the dreams we have of spring while still enduring the cold of winter. No snow here, still, but we might get some later this week. Don’t close your first snow window, some of us are often very late to get some, often March for our first real snow that can be photographed!
    Frances

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

