Farewell, January!

light

“The shortest day has passed, and whatever nastiness of weather we may look forward to in January and February, at least we notice that the days are getting longer.  Minute by minute they lengthen out.  It takes some weeks before we become aware of the change.  It is imperceptible even as the growth of a child, as you watch it day by day, until the moment comes when with a start of delighted surprise we realize that we can stay out of doors in a twilight lasting for another quarter of a precious hour.” –  Vita Sackville-West

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

9 thoughts on “Farewell, January!”

  1. Nancy, gardening is universal isn’t it? Ms. Sackville-West’s sentiments are so apropos at this moment. My daughter’s birthday is January 27 and every year on her day I make a point of noticing the lengthening evening daylight.

    Beautiful photo of the lamp light. The Welsh proverb and your grandson’s photo is precious.

  2. Nancy,
    When I visit your blog I always get a boost. I love how you have spot-on quotations that perfectly match your wonderful photos. Ms. Vita Sackville-West and Thoreau are two of my favorites…..I have always been inspired by their observations and philosophies on gardening and nature.

    Yes, like Ms. Vita I too welcome our inching minute-by-minute into longer days as we THINK SPRING.

    Jon at Mississippi Garden

  3. Hi Nancy, Good morning! I hope it’s a gorgeous sunny day and you enjoy each minute of it…I love knowing the days are lengthening just a bit everyday. Gail

  4. I am relishing every second of every minute that we are given. Almost a gift, it makes up for what was taken away from us this fall and winter.

    At night when I drive home, there are days when the twilight is just slightly less dense. How I love those days.

    A beautiful post, thank you.

    Jen

  5. Yay February!!! I’m so glad to see another long month of winter gone, the days till spring are getting closer now. :)

  6. Hi Nancy … I liked that very much , thank you !
    I know i see a difference in the light value in the morning .. that is my worst and best friend .. I’m a morning person .. I need that jump start of sunlight to get my head straight and my body going … a lot of coffee helps too !
    6 more weeks of winter ??? did the ground hog say that ??? … BIG sigh !! : )
    Joy

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

