Gold Finch Lollipop?

bird_stick

I smiled when I saw this little fellow, clinging tenaciously to the very tip of a thorny rose cane — that’s another wonder, how they manage to not get skewered by some of those thorns.

There’s a new visitor to the feeder the past couple of days.  A pair of Evening Grosbeaks have made several appearances, but I haven’t been able to get a photo yet.

As a side note, my Dad was hospitalized with pneumonia yesterday, so any good thoughts sent this way will be much appreciated.  I think they’ve caught it early, so hopefully, treatment will clear things up without incident.

For those who’ve expressed an interest, I’m still working on the poetry page for Soliloquy, and hope to have it ready to read very soon.  It’s more work than I thought it would be.   Isn’t it always? ;)

14 thoughts on “Gold Finch Lollipop?

  1. Your perilously perched goldfinch is a cutie, Nancy. Prayers for your father and good luck wishes on your poetry come with this heartfelt post.

  2. A lovely photo, as always, Nancy. I too join with your other friends around the world sending good thoughts, wishes and prayers for your father’s quick recovery. (((((Nancy)))))

  3. I am always amazed that these small creatures can survive the horrid conditions of winter. I can’t wait for your poetry page. You Dad certainly has many healing thoughts and prayers coming from here.

  4. Love the photo of the little goldfinch balancing on the end of a ‘stick’! I send you good thoughts and wishes for your dads healing. It is probably stressful for you right now:(

    I don’t know about your poetry page. Did you talk about it and I just missed it? I’m interested to know:)

    Hi Jan – I’m just putting some of my poetry on a page of its own as some had inquired about it. It’s easier than trying to search through posts for it. :) I’m trying to make the page somewhat interesting, and that’s a little slower process than I’d anticipated. :) I hope you’ll check it out when it’s up and readable.

  5. I’m thinking good thoughts about your dad. Hope he’s better very soon.

    Love your goldfinch. He looks cold, but like he’s handling it.

  6. Dear Nancy, I am late in commenting but the bird is a delightful and the news about your dad must be very distressing for you… It certainly has been a stressfully long season for you. Gail

  7. Nancy, Your dad’s health, and your peace of mind, are in my prayers this evening. How is Charlie’s father doing? And little Nolan?

    The photo of the goldfinch is priceless! :-)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

