Pheasant Under Glass

pheasant

Actually, that should be more like pheasant through glass — I snapped a photo of this handsome fellow through my bedroom window yesterday, thus why the quality isn’t as sharp as it should be, but I thought it was a lucky shot just the same.  They move very quickly — he was on the march here and then flew away moments after I clicked the shutter.

Joining the menagerie yesterday was this pigeon (below) — they are like “feathered rats”, I suppose, but their colors are beautiful and they do clean up all the stray seed.  I think those tracks must belong to Mr. Pheasant.

pigeon

Myrt and Gert (below) looked on from the comfort of their apple tree perch, spreading the latest gossip, no doubt. :)

doves

After all the bitterly cold weather we’ve been experiencing,  we are to get snow this evening, changing to rain and FOG overnight.  Temperatures are to climb above the freezing mark again by tomorrow with some extended freezing rain and ice pellets in the mix.  Joy!

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

11 thoughts on “Pheasant Under Glass”

  1. He’s very colourful and I especially like his long tail.
    I have a sneaking admiration for pigeons – so successful at surviving. As you say they are good at tidying up left over food. More annoying when they get to the food first and gobble it up in seconds.
    I’ve got two doves visiting my garden. They look so contented sitting side by side. You just have to smile!

  2. We have a couple of male pheasants who come daily to the feeders out back. I don’t know where their hens are, (maybe they don’t have any) but they’re certainly fun to watch. No pigeons, happily, but lots of mourning doves at some times of the day.

  3. We used to have a LOT of pheasants here, until the hunters cleared many of them out. :-( We still see one now and then and it thrills me no end. They’re absolutely stunning. I think there isn’t a thing wrong with your photo. I love it!

  4. These photos of the birds are a joy. Your weather however is blech. I am glad you are keeping on a positive note with your house bound weather situation. Of course if I had such a handsome bird strutting across our garden I would be happy too. I am sure Mert and Gert are talking about him too.

  5. What an impressive pheasant! We don’t have them here in the SE US. I’d love to see one out my window. The other birds are great, too.

    I’m delighted that you’ll have some thawing-out weather for now; your winter weather certainly builds anticipation of spring to come!

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

