Frosty Flora and Feathers

hyacinth_mosaic“And the hyacinth purple, and white, and blue,
Which flung from its bells a sweet peal anew
Of music so delicate, soft, and intense,
It was felt like an odour within the sense.”

– Percy Bysshe Shelley

My fragrant white hyacinth has unfurled all it’s lovely “bells” and I thought I’d include one last photo of its journey from bud to bloom.  And oh, the scent!  It is intoxicating.

At the feeder today, it’s a feeding frenzy!  The little gold finches are here in record numbers and all competing for the most lucrative perch!  They are certainly a splash of light on a bitterly cold day.  I’ve always wondered how their little feet don’t freeze!

finch_sittingYou’d think this little fellow must have a cold behind!

finch_feederWaiting their turn…

finch_incomingHeads up!  Incoming!

finch_withseedAnd the winner takes all.

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

13 thoughts on “Frosty Flora and Feathers”

  1. Birdfeeding is fun. My grandparents had a feeder right outside their kitchenwindow so they could look at the birds when they ate. Inspired by that I put up some instant feeders on my balcony when I moved to my first place. Boy, did those birdies eat! I had to replace the feeders every other day – I probably had the hungriest ‘guests’ of the neighbourhood.

    It IS expensive to keep the litte critters fed, especially when you have 30-40 coming at a time! They empty the feeder at least once a day and we use the black oil sunflower seeds which aren’t cheap. They eat better than we do! (kidding)

  2. Nancy, Fantastic photos…I am crazy about these little birds…love they way they can hang onto swaying flower stalks. I do like your white hyacinth. gail

    I wish you could smell that hyacinth, Gail — there’s just the one bloom from one bulb and it fills the living room with scent. I’ll be sad when it has gone.

  3. The goldfinches remind me of sweet baby chicks. I think they’re just as pretty in winter plumage as summer…the colors are just more subtle. Love your beautifully clear photos!
    I have hyacinth envy :)

    Thanks for your lovely comment, Kerri. :) And yes, my grandson really is growing by leaps and bounds. And I agree, he’s adorable. But I’m biased, of course! :-)

    Your grandson has grown…and is even cuter (if that’s possible)! :)

  4. What great and fun pictures of the Goldfinches. I get so much pleasure from the birds in the winter. I wonder sometimes how they can stand the cold outside especially in the cold we have had here lately. The one sitting on the branch with icicles must have cold feet.
    Lona

    That’s what I thought, too! And there’s nothing to their little feet as far as “padding” goes. I guess they must be well-equipped, though. :)

  5. I didn’t realize the goldfinches hung around during winter, I only see them in my garden in the summer months. Lovely bloom on your Hyacinth!

    Oh yes, we have more gold finches than any other bird right now — they’re steady customers.

  6. I have been trying to get good photos of birds. But I just don’t think I’m quick enough! You, on the other hand, seem to have the knack of catching everything just right!

    Brenda

    Hi Brenda! The birds are here ALL day long, so it is relatively easy (with patience and a tolerannce for cold!) to get photos. :) Just good timing, I guess.

  7. Hi Nancy,
    Such a pretty flower:) So glad you have been enjoying it!

    Of course, I love the birds, including the sweet goldfinches. They look so fluffy in the winter.

    Speaking of which, you guys are certainly dealing with some snow and cold! We had 0 degree weather this morning but I know that’s like a day at the beach in comparison to yours!!

    I have a question: I’m trying to get the link for your blog to show up on my side bar. It won’t take the link when I added it to blogger. Has this ever happened before or am I doing something wrong that you might know of? Thanks!

    Hi Jan – hmmm, I really have no idea why you wouldn’t be able to put a link in your sidebar. It’s never happened before that I know of, and that is rather strange. I hope you can figure it out. Maybe someone else will know. :)

    Jan

  8. You always have the best bird feeder photos Nancy. I always wonder how their feet don’t freeze on the feeders, etc., too! They must have lots of insulation/padding?? That’s a good research subject! Youy hyacinth collage is beautiful. It could be a postcard.

    Thanks for your kind comments, Kathleen. It would surely be a dull weather without our little feathered friends. :)

  9. Love the pictures of the American Goldfinches! I hadn’t realized that you have them as overwintering birds (in their muted winter plumage). They’re such fun to watch in the summer here, foraging for seeds. They’re not so noticeable in the winter, but maybe I need to expand my feeder program to include more than one thistle feeder!

    We have more gold finches than anything else right now. We get the odd chickadee, but their numbers have declined this year for some reason. The redpoles should soon make an appearance…they’re cute little fellows, too. :)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

