Thoreau Had The Blues

xblue

January 9, 1852 . . . Where a path has been shoveled through the drifts in the road, I see…little heavens in the crannies and crevices.  The deeper they are, and the larger masses they are surrounded by, the darker blue they are.  Some are a very light blue with a tinge of green.  Me thinks I oftenest see this when it is snowing.  At any rate, the atmosphere must be in a peculiar state.  Apparently the snow absorbs the other rays, and reflects the blue.  It has strained the air, and only the blue rays have passed through the sieve…Into every track which the teamster makes this…empyrean atmosphere rushes.  – From the journal of Henry David Thoreau

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

11 thoughts on “Thoreau Had The Blues”

  1. How beautiful Nancy! It’s snowing here today, and I’ll be on the lookout for the blues. We had a very blue evening with a very heavy fog several days ago. It was so pretty.

  2. A beautiful photo to go with the quote. It is odd that I love the quotes from Thoreau’s writing but for the life of me I can’t make myself read his writings. Thanks so much for this glimpse.

  3. What a great quote and gorgeious picture…although I couldn’t help but think that if I thought that deeply my head would surely explode! Guess I will never be another Thoreau, alas I’m doomed to a life talking to a camel, lol!!!

  4. A very appropriate observation especially today, Nancy, when the sunlight is painting snow with blues and violets. We have drifts that are four feet deep in some spots, and just barely covering the grass in other spots, but I like it; all is clean and pristine, except the needlepoint of birdtracks around the feeders. (might as well focus on the attributes of winter, mightn’t we?)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

