First Hyacinth!

xhyacinth

Okay, okay, it’s not that exciting.  Charlie, who seems to have a radar for wayward $2 plants, brought this home from the supermarket last evening.

Hyacinths are one of my favorite springtime flowers because of the structure of their buds, all nestled tightly together as they are, and how they symbolize rebirth.  This plant is plain white but is sure to add a hint of spring to the grey days ahead.  Heaven knows, after the hours of freezing rain we had last night, nothing will be poking its way through the ground here in Nova Scotia any time soon!

Author: nancybond

A writer, photographer, naturalist from small town Nova Scotia, Canada.

14 thoughts on “First Hyacinth!”

  1. Charlie has a great eye for bargains! :) I love them too Nancy, they have a lovely fragrance as well. Won’t that be nice to have something beautiful blooming in the winter.

  2. What a lovely gift. You will enjoy the fragrance when it is open. I think it a wonderful gesture for him to bring this home.

  3. Hi Nancy,
    It is fun to watch these beauties pop up and open…it all happens so quickly, doesn’t it?! I’ll check back to see if you post a photo of it opened. I have one of a pot of paper whites that have been opening for me. My neighbor gave me 4 bulbs for Christmas. I’ve taken the photos, now I just need to put them in a post. Gee, I wonder if I should ‘enlarge’ them??!!!
    Jan

  4. I agree, hyacinths are exciting, and this was an excellent $2 deal. I love hyacinths, and in the middle of winter, having something green and sprouting nearby is wonderful. Someday I’ll work out how to force them–so far, the hyacinths I’ve tried forcing are far behind the ones outdoors – which is a little backwards.

  5. oh yes, it is THAT exciting Nancy!! At least I’m excited about it too. :-) I love forcing hyacinths. I have some in my frig right now but not as far along as your bargain one. Looking forward to seeing pics of it open!

  6. You had me going, there! But I understand completely that you’d be excited about a hyacinth growing… indoors! :-) I looked and looked at some the other day, and then I went back to look some more. But they weren’t on sale. For $2, I’d have brought one home, too! Congratulations! :-)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

