Got Cranberries?

xmuffins

With our company stretched out over an entire week this past holiday season, I cooked a double batch of cranberry sauce — which I love, and others, well, not so much.  While tidying up the fridge yesterday, I decided to scour my cookbooks for a recipe that would make use of some of the delicious berries and found a muffin recipe that sounded perfect.  It makes 16 generous sized muffins that are full of grainy goodness, and the tartness of the cranberries makes them not as sweet as some muffins.  Delicious!  The recipe follows:

Day-After Cranberry Sauce Muffins

1 cup flour
1/2 cup whole-grain wheat flour
1 cup oats
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 ½ cups of leftover cranberry sauce
1/2 cup skim milk
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg

1. Heat oven to 400°F. Line muffin tin with paper baking cups.

2. In a large bowl, combine regular flour, whole-grain flour, oats, brown sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda and salt; mix well. In medium bowl, combine milk, oil, cranberry sauce and egg; blend well. Fold into dry ingredients all at once; stir until dry ingredients are just moistened.

3. Fill muffin cups about three-quarters full.   Bake 20 to 22 minutes or until golden brown.

11 thoughts on “Got Cranberries?

  1. I love cranberries, but the rest of my family “not so much”, as you say. I’ve resorted to buying some cranberry sauce at the holidays so that I can have a taste, knowing that no one else will eat it. This recipe sounds like the perfect way to use up the leftovers.

    Glad you had a good Christmas visit with your daughters and family; Nolan has grown so much from the photo on your sidebar!

  2. Hi Nancy, it looks so delicious, I love Muffins!!!
    I ‘m late to wish you a Happy New Year, but I have a new laptop and take more time to do all well.
    Have a great time Wurzerl

  3. oh yum Nancy! I’ve got an open but almost full jar of Trader Joe’s organic cranberry sauce – now I know what to do with it! Thanks for the recipe. Those muffins look delicious. I love cranberries.

  4. Nancy,
    They look “dee….lish”…..I love anything made from cranberries….particularly the juice. In fact, on New Year’s day I had a “Poinsettia”….one of my favorite cocktails made with champagne and cranberry juice. Sounds very strange but it was actually quite tasty with our “good luck” lunch of black-eyed peas, ham, cornbread, and greens!

    Hope you and yours have a Happy New Year and all the best in 2009!

    Jon at Mississippi Garden

  5. What a great way to use up cranberries. So delicious and healthy, too. The whole grain wheat flour really makes it for me. I would love this for breakfast, or anytime! Sounds great in the afternoon with a cup of tea on a cold day!
    :)
    Philip

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

