Breakfast at Daybreak

chickxI caught this little fellow at the feeder at daybreak this morning — the birds seem to know when there’s a storm on the way, and I’m sure he was having an extra big breakfast!

stepxsIt has since started snowing in earnest, and I was struck by the abstract nature of this simple shot — no footprints had yet marred these concrete steps.  Another example of  the neutrals of winter.  We’re to receive about 4-6″ thoughout the day, with a bit of freezing rain or ice pellets thrown in the mix this evening.  Ugh.

6 thoughts on “Breakfast at Daybreak

  1. I love the look of snow unmarred by human footprints, although there are usually some mysterious pawprints around our house:)
    We had snow and ice yesterday, too–stay warm and dry!

  2. Nancy,

    Nature does indeed create beautiful scenes! There is something wonderful about unmarred snow…I am loving yours. We get plenty of rain and some ice storms but not much in the way of snow. That has it’s plus and minuses! Enjoy the views and I know we’ll get to se wonderful photos. Gail

  3. Hi Nancy, cute little fellow. I don’t know how you do it, I never get a sharp bird picture :-( gggrrrr. Yours is just a brilliant photo Nancy/ Tyra

  4. I like these pics, too. We are supposed to get about the same amount of snow here in SE Nebraska as you are. They haven’t canceled school yet. I wish they would. (My husband and I both work at the same high school.) At least I can ride with him, even though his day is an hour longer. I hate driving on the snow. We will be out a couple weeks after tomorrow, though. I hope to clean some messes and get caught up on my blog reading. :o)

I appreciate and welcome your comments!

